book notes / sa08

1 03 2011

I’ve been tweetin’ but in case you missed:

Forsaken Shores: Ye Printe Booke is completed and an author’s proof is coming my way shortly. If all goes as planned it’ll be on sale next week. The cost will be $16, as it’s only 7 pages shorter than The First Age, and it comes with a bonus chapter. The Kindle version will be $10, and a $10 donation version which only consists of the bonus chapter will also be available.

What are these bonus chapters? I’m glad you asked!

THE FIRST AGE comes with a00 origins, which is a curious little tale that takes place in… well, I’ll leave its place in the timeline as an exercise to the reader. But it also has past-prologue elements concerning Emily’s origins, the start of the Faerie war, the origins of Lady Summer and Lady Winter, and even a look inside the mind of the Pandora Event’s lead designer. It’s pretty critical stuff for understanding the story behind the story of anachronauts.

You can buy Anachronauts: The First Age right now, in fact!

FORSAKEN SHORES comes with fs06 beginnings, which consists of Emily, three weeks pregnant with l’il Susie Moonthistle, using Foresight to peer into her daughter’s future. We don’t see too much of Susie’s developing years on the website… now we do. Plus, hints of other things to come, and what may be the final fate of her family line.

This book will hopefully be on sale next week.

Since I’ve been busy prepping books and I’ll be busy tonight doing likewise, AND I’m fumbling a bit for the next few scenes, sa08 will take a hiatus for this Wednesday and will return Sunday with new scenes. Once it’s finished, I’ll be fast-tracking the London’s Fog book while planning the final Second Age story (dealing with Astro Gal) and the endgame stories known as Stars Fall.

Thank you for supporting crowdfunded online fiction. Hope you enjoy the books.

Actions

Information

15 responses

2 03 2011
jengagne

Take it from somebody in the know, these two bonus stories are fun and also Quite Revealing. Definitely a fair thank-you in return for you thanking the author with your money. :D

2 03 2011
tozetre

I will FILL YOU WITH MONEYS and acquire this mystical new tome. :3

2 03 2011
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

It grants +1 to Wisdom when read! And only 16 gold each, what a steal.

2 03 2011
tozetre

Cheapest stat buff EVAR.

2 03 2011
kamalloy

So looking forward to the Forsaken Shores book! I love the more ominous color scheme on the cover.
Is there supposed to be something for the covers of the three future books? All I’m seeing are broken image links in Firefox and IE.
Also, when I was sick last week I had start reading the First Age book to me. It is all part of my plan to get him to read the story, plus it gave me great entertainment when all I had the energy to do was lie down somewhere.

2 03 2011
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Broken image fixed now. It’s just a greyed out placeholder, but.
The plans for the book covers are/where…
FIRST AGE: Depicts the east coast. Frame is half iPod white, half ornate painting frame.
FORSAKEN SHORES: Depicts the west coast. Frame is half iPod black, half corrupted painting frame.
LONDON’S FOG: Depicts England, probably also France and Morocco. Frame is half angelic/churchy/gothic, half steampunk.
STARS FALL: Depicts planet Earth as a whole, on a starry background. Frame is half ice, half fire.
SECOND AGE TALES: … honestly, no idea yet. Still trying to figure out what this book will be, anyways.

3 03 2011
kamalloy

Awesomeness.
Also, went back and reread a00 after finishing London’s Fog and went, “Holy crap, he foreshadowed *spoiler* too!”

3 03 2011
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Indeed! Entirely by design. There are hints and foreshadows of nearly everything I’ve done… and things I have yet to do.
(Curious as to what she’s talking about? Find out for yourself!)

3 03 2011
Anonymous

would love to buy but as I’m stuck in Malaysia shipping would be a bitch.
Would you put other versions up aside from kindle? (as i don’t have one =( ) like a PDF file?

3 03 2011
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

I’ve got three ways to get the book. Print, Kindle, and a Donation Gift.
For $10 by Paypal, I’ll send the bonus story alone in HTML form. I can’t send a fully printer-ready PDF of the entire book without causing some legal tangle problems with Amazon, but I can carve off that portion.
If you can’t Paypal… well, you’re kinda out of luck, sorry. There’s gotta be SOME way for money to cross hands here and I’ve provided three methods, yanno?
Also, Kindle can work on PCs, iPhones, laptops, just about anything that reads bits. It’s not exclusive to the actual Kindle device. Read more about it at amazon.com.

3 03 2011
Anonymous

lol no fears on the payment methods =)
any chance you’ll compile a nice little trilogy set? =D

3 03 2011
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

See above; box sets aren’t really possible, not without me actually preparing and shipping the box myself, which would make them MORE expensive instead of less expensive.
Plus, it’s more of a quintology than a trilogy. (a, fs, lf, sa, sf)

3 03 2011
meredy

If calling it a Trilogy was good enough for Douglas Adams, it should be good enough for you gosh darnit!

3 03 2011
jengagne

Arrgh, I’ve read it and yet I’m curious — email me? jen@beware-of-art.com

4 03 2011
kamalloy

Sent!

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

