yet more update (and how you can help)

7 02 2011

Bringin’ y’all up to date on the doings and goings on.

I’ve been busy editing Forsaken Shores, for the published book — and organizing the purchase of a new computer (which may be delayed thanks to Sandy Goddamn Bridge). Also, I’m pondering where to go first with anachronauts. I have several promising “leads” of what I can do next, but I’d love to hear your take on them.

For my next trick, I could…

1. Write the “chroming the moon” Second Age story. How do the Orbitals finally work through their power consumption problems? Let’s find out! I’m thinking a ‘pseudo-documentary’ style story, here. Dunno how exciting it’d be, since I don’t have any actual CONFLICT planned, but it’s fun worldbuilding.

2. Write an Astro Gal story. I’ve been fascinated by the idea of a timelocked teenage heroine; how she copes with daily life, how she does the superhero thing in a realistic world. This one would be very standalone, since it’s focused completely on her, with some Una/Nel in the mix too.

3. Finalize London’s Fog, write its bonus story, publish the book. More books are always an option, and might be better to get these out of the way before Stars Fall. But working on a book means more weeks without free content releases, and if nobody’s gonna buy it, that’s not a good use of my time.

4. Finalize a “Tales of the Second Age” compilation book. Less sexy than the other options, but it’d be good to have this in print before Stars Fall, since some of the SA-exclusive characters like Elisa Morales and Astro Gal and such will be playing a part. Same drawback as an LF book; more ‘dead air’ between free releases as I work behind the scenes.

5. Get going on Stars Fall. I’ll be honest; the plot isn’t totally finalized and if I do this, it means no more Second Age stories, and doing it before we have the books finished could mean a long delay for the Stars Fall book, etc. So the others are more viable. But if there’s more interest in finishing the saga than the above story and project ideas, I can skip ahead.

We’re in the “last days” of anachronauts, but those last days will still take awhile, what with the lingering side stories and publications and the final series to work on. It’s just a matter of what the audience wants to see more of. What intrigues them, what drives them.

What do you think? Any of the above? Anything I’m missing? Anything you thought of that you’d wanna see? Etc.

Actions

Information

17 responses

7 02 2011
benabik

I’m most interested in 1 & 3. The story of the Orbitals is an interesting one… And “chroming the moon” just sounds interesting. #3 is also neat, although I still haven’t gotten around to buying the first book. ~.~ I want it, but I’m also trying to cut back on spending.

7 02 2011
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Not much I can do on the pricing; if I dial it back even more, I’ll be making vending machine snack money. Print on demand is pricey. Sorry, man.
I might run a contest or something and the winner gets free copies of the books. But the overall idea is to make a product people want to BUY, too.
I edited the post just now to add more details on all the options. The Orbital story would be kind of a ‘found document’ without a lot of adventure and action, but for folks who dig them, it’ll be a treat.

7 02 2011
benabik

World building is interesting. :-D
My carping about buying the book was less about the price and more about me lacking spending money. ~_^ I do intend to get them, but need to sort out stuff first.

7 02 2011
aj_hyena

“Print on demand is pricey” — this is why I write for the sake of writing. Though you did inspire me to attempt my own little experiment on LJ (where the readers will influence the story and a Total Party Kill -is- possible with the wrong decisions).

7 02 2011
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

I’m not expecting to make a living off this, either — I have a day job and believe firmly in having a day job. But the amount of time and effort that goes into the books needs to be justifiable, anyway. It’s great to have the legitimacy of print publication but crowdfunding doesn’t work without a crowd with funds.

7 02 2011
lirazel

I’m voting for completing a book next, then short stories, then Stars Fall, then a Best Of Second Age.
Books should come out while folks are still interested in the bonus story. :) And I suspect you may want to add more stories, so leave that for when OMGPLOT! is done.
IMHO, YMMV, etc.

7 02 2011
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

My only worry for leaving the Second Age print book for last is that it introduces some characters who will be playing a role in Stars Fall. So people who (I know this is a stretch) exclusively read the printed books will be headscratching. That’s why I’m including sa01 (Benny/Chloe) in the London’s Fall print book.
Also, note I’m doing the Forsaken Shores book right now; so you’re saying follow it with the London’s Fog book? It’d mean a long time without web content. Feasible, just making sure folks understand.

7 02 2011
kamalloy

My preference would be to see #1 and #2 next (though no preference order between the two), partly because I’ve been really looking forward to seeing what happens to the Orbitals (and Kanthi?) and because I really like Astro Gal, and partly because it sounds like those might be the easiest options for you. I’m fine with waiting for London’s Fog and Second Age books, and it seems to me that wrapping up the Second Age stories before starting Stars Fall would make a lot of sense.
(insert disclaimer about those being just my opinions, etc.)

7 02 2011
schadrach

My preference would be 1, 3, 2, 4, 5.
Presumably the Astro Girl story would either be second age or something else on it’s own?
So the way I see it, more anachronauts is never *bad*, back to back book releases is likely to both be slow for fans and possibly get you put off from continuing. So interleave the two, no need for it to seem repetitive, after all.
Also, 5 last, since you don’t have a plot finalized. You seem to do much better when you know quite where you are going. =)

7 02 2011
lumenadducere

1 & 2 for me, and then either 3 or 5 depending on how you feel. Both of those SA stories sound appealing and I have no idea what the logistics are of the book publishing so I don’t know if that’s a worthwhile endeavor for you.

8 02 2011
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

There’s something to be said for interleaving. Back to back books would be problematic for you guys.

8 02 2011
lirazel

Whoops, sorry, forgot about that.
In that case, I would say 1, 3, 2, 4, 5

8 02 2011
storytellersjk

Having finally caught back up, I would vote for 2. I enjoy slice of life stories especially ones set in fascinating worlds, I love the una/nel couple and think it would be neat to see them as parents, and most of all I am intrigued by Astro. She is a neat character, with a lot of potential. Hopefully even if you do not tell this story next, you will still tell it at some point down the line.

9 02 2011
Anonymous

Astro Gal
Would be really nice to find out more about the eternal teen hero.
How she copes with the differences between the reality of her bith and the one she is stranded in now.
palelurker

9 02 2011
jengagne

I’d stay in approximate chronological order and interleave them like so:
1, 3, 2, 4, 5
1 and 2 are relatively short and standalone compared to the entire Stars Fall saga (is that going to be multi-part? I assume?)
Plus that leaves Stars Fall for the end, which is really where I imagine it oughta be.

9 02 2011
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Re: Astro Gal
That’s the plan, yeah; explore how her situation works. I don’t think her original reality was all four color wackiness, though… that’s just the ideal she aspires to.

9 02 2011
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

I’m starting to think that’s the way to go. Short story, book, short story, saga, book, final book. Keeps the crowd from going hungry, keeps things lively.

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

