lf04 faces the curtain with a bow

1 01 2011

Don’t shoot the messenger. Unless ordered to do so.

This closes out London’s Fog 04, and if you thought the last TWEEST was something… well.

Happy New Year, folks. It’s been a crazy year plus of writing this story, and while we’re “close” to the end of the road, there’s a wild ride waiting you on the way there. In celebration of a pretty decent 2010 and the start of a hopefully awesome 2011, enjoy your story update one day early.

As noted before, I’ve installed a web statistics system into the pages, which lets me Big Brother you guys. It’s been working great so far; I can tell there are folks reading the early stories, caught up to the draft, poking through the artwork, etc. I don’t have to rely exclusively on livejournal based posts to know anybody’s actually out there. But by all means, don’t let that stop you from posting your reactions and thoughts. It’s not all about the grammar, either.

I’m debating what I want to do next… lf05, to come in hot off lf04, or to do the possibly last Second Age standalone story. Which appeals to you more, continuing the British Invasion, or Chroming the Moon?

Another opinion check: I’m thinking having fs01 pull double duty as sa01 is and has always been a bit confusing. I’m thinking of re-numbering all the Second Age series stories, bumping them back one number. Would that help? EDIT: Decided to do this. The stories are now renumbered.

Happy new year and thanks for reading, as always.

Actions

Information

14 responses

1 01 2011
chiave_trust

Kitsuko here, finally commenting (haha).
I think bumping the stories back one number would work well, for what it’s worth.
Also, my SL self will be working on the Winter issue of Steampunk Adventures, featuring your interview, right after the new year. I’ll include you on the draft release and let you know when it’s officially released, too. (If there’s anything you want to add to it, now’s the time.)

1 01 2011
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Yeah, the whole “split saga story” thing I thought was clever at the time, but really it’s just kinda confusing. I have enough folks who can’t figure out the timeline (and justifiably so) that I should make things simple.
Hooray! I can’t wait to read it. :D I think the interview stands okay; you can note that the chapter we talked about is final and ready for reading, although as always, I recommend starting from the “Start Here” link.

1 01 2011
chiave_trust

I always adhere to the “don’t make the person have to think” doctrine, which applies even in other places than web design. So, if you want to change the numbering, I’m all for that.
We’re changing our focus to be more of a literary magazine, but I think the emphasis on anachronauts works, so I’m glad you took the time to answer my questions, as silly as they might have seemed. Thank you!

1 01 2011
tekalynn

Happy New Year!

1 01 2011
doxxxicle

Agreed on the fs01/sa01 split thing being confusing. I was looking at it yesterday trying to figure out where I had stopped reading and I don’t really think I understand how the split is supposed to work.

1 01 2011
luridel

Read update, wanted to pat Gilbert on the head. x3 Throwing in a vote for lf05.

2 01 2011
lirazel

Oh Wow. WOW.
I always sorta wondered about that. I mean… steam. Why doesn’t anyone wonder where it comes from?

2 01 2011
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

This is a carryover from my aborted “i am ikon” project. The inventor of the steam that powered all the steampunky stuff there gave his own life to make the steam slightly sentient, and capable of doing more than it should be capable of doing.
I was going to make it a bit more obvious, IE have the design of steam machinery be “more art than science” and “require a creative willpower to shape what the device should actually be doing” but oddly, I find myself not exploring much of the nuts and bolts of this steampunk society. That’s one thing I wish I was doing more of, but the story is taking its own course, and I’d be stupid to veer away when it’s working fine.

2 01 2011
lirazel

Yes, if you were writing a different kind of story, doing more “world creation” would make more sense. It’s actually really tricky to do that sort of thing — I mean, I love (to the point of adulation) Tolkien for his intensely realized world, but half the people I know who like fantasy hate his stuff because it’s “too descriptive.”
I should think, though, that London will give you a bit of a chance at that, if you’d like. Gilbert showing Jesse a toy store sortofathing.

2 01 2011
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Definitely gonna do some exploration of London before things hit the fan. The initial scenes concern Benny’s subplot, but then he’s out for awhile, so we’ll have time to prep and show the city.
This is the heart of the empire, the core example of how things work. It’s not an outskirt outlaw nation, not a tourist trap, not even an industrial sector; it’s a fully mixed and realized city. And one that’s starting to come apart at the seams, indirectly thanks to the party’s antics… there’s plenty of opportunity there.

4 01 2011
Anonymous

So now every aetheric steam tainted thing/person could be a potential threat to the group ? (or maybe not, perhaps it’s His motive)
I like how it waited until she was (mildly) awoken before killing her. Still gentlemanesque.
-HP

4 01 2011
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Potentially. Jeeves is still a bit of a special case… as you’ll see in the Wednesday update.

7 01 2011
Anonymous

I like the split saga story telling myself. It’s kept me on my toes. I also tend to like seeing large scale stories told from different angles, but connected. This has done that, since we’re looking at different parts of the world.

12 01 2011
Anonymous

Enjoyed this chapter
This was fun, very exciting. I cannot wait to see what happens next. Being behind, I guess i don’t have to wait. Onto the next chapter!

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

