a smoothing out and a shiny new baby

12 12 2010

Quick blog post.

I think I’ve figured out how to fix one of the major problems in the next London’s Fog chapter. I’m not very good at writing intricate heist capers, but I’ve concocted a decent one which I’ve run by a few friends, who gave it the thumbs up. I tidy up some other odds and ends in the chapter and we’ll be good to go. I still won’t claim I can stick to my update schedule, but at least it’s not jammed up completely.

Also, all hail jengagne and her new dread scion, codename Zaney. My new niece was born this morning and is doing well. I’m gonna drop by the hospital later today to say Howdy to the offspring. (Jen actually reviewed my story notes via iPhone while having contractions. That is one dedicated anachronauts fan. Or she just needed to get her mind off the GODAWFUL HORRIBLE AGONY OF THE BIRTHING PROCESS.)

Actions

Information

11 responses

12 12 2010
lucilleliu

As much as I love Anachronauts, it seems like you do have a lot going on in your life right now, so I can wait patiently for another update.
Reviewing a story during contractions? Wow. Congrats to her on the new baby, though. I’m sure it’s as;klhdfa;uihe adorable.

12 12 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Yeah, I’m not gonna rush it. I’m just glad I got past the major stumbling block in the plot. Without that the chapter was deadlocked.
Haven’t seen the kid yet; I’m going to the hospital tomorrow to bear witness to the scion.

12 12 2010
lirazel

OH NOES, SISTER SIBLING RIVALRY!
My sister and I wrote the book on that subject. Seriously, I love her, but it took her a long time to get over the fact that I was older. I knew she’d finally forgiven me when she allowed me to recommend a pediatrician.
Anyway, congrats to Jen. And be glad you’ll never give birth to anything more alarming than Se7en Seas Fish.

13 12 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Se7en Seas Fish? o.o;;;
We’re really hoping the girls will get along. Jen and I got along okay, but we’re perpendicular concepts physically; there’s no crossover in terms of fighting for affection from our parents.

13 12 2010
lirazel

Well, yes, I hope they get along too. But you don’t want total, co-conspiratorial synergy, either. @__@;

13 12 2010
schadrach

Girls…get along? Oh you poor deluded person.
I have an alarmingly vast array of nieces and nephews and I can say this without a doubt — girls are backstabbing monsters who will do things to each other that would make a politician blush in shame, barring the existence of a non-consanguineous target to band together against. Or maybe that’s just my 5 nieces and all of their collective friends.

13 12 2010
lucilleliu

My sister and I got along well. If we had disagreements it was more along the lines of straight-up sibling fights rather than backstabbing. Perhaps that was because we were far apart in age. I find girls are more likely to backstab with girls their own age.

13 12 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

In this case, they’re 1.8 years apart from each other. Could get messy.

14 12 2010
schadrach

Yeah, the worst of it with my nieces was between the oldest three, with the next youngest joining in once she hit her mid-teens. There’s 4 years between the eldest and third.
Strangely, the boys have been mostly pretty quiet and sane, to the point that the oldest boy was pressed into a shotgun wedding with a 15 year old and I barely batted an eye in comparison to his sisters (also the only thing he’s ever really *done*, mind you). My brother in law jokes about it. Then again when my sister has a restraining order against one of my nieces and another one straightened out a lot and really cleaned herself up and got off of her assorted array of substances after her second child was diagnosed with cancer, the bar is set pretty high. Did I mention that there are parts of my family that resemble a bad soap opera? =p
But the holidays are coming, so I’ll see the whole lot and their assorted offspring (where appropriate) here soon. Except for the eldest who decided the rest of her family was crazy, cut all ties and left the state and the third eldest, who’s the one my sister has the restraining order against (rather not go into exactly how that came to be, but suffice it to say that it ended in an armed standoff and the police being called).

14 12 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Your family alarms me considerably. I hope you don’t mind if I hope my nieces aren’t headed in those directions.

14 12 2010
schadrach

Couldn’t blame you. I’m actually kind of proud of the second eldest though (the one with the son with cancer) — she’s really put forth the effort to turn her life around. She’s got a ways to go, but she’s not who she was even a couple of years ago.
If it makes you feel any better about it, my nephews are actually not bad. The biggest crimes of the youngest (13) are spending too much time on WoW/the current CoD and texting his gf every 2 minutes or so via some SMS app on his iPod. Really the whole “shotgun wedding with 15 year old girl” thing is the only really bad thing any of my nephews have been involved in. Hence my view “Girls=crazy backstabbers, Boys=Quiet but eventually skirtchasers.”
My family alarms *me* considerably sometimes, I actually wonder if my eldest niece didn’t have the right idea at times, then my youngest nephew comes by (my sister lives next door, so I see him pretty much every day, unless he’s too engrossed in WoW, in which case we usually go run instances or something there) and I remember it’s not all insanity, drama, and armed standoffs (though to be fair, there has only been one of those).

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

