sa08 is like taking candy from a baby

29 11 2010

And now for something completely different.

Sorry for the belated update. I’ve had a very busy, VERY strange weekend with an offbeat sleep schedule. Notably: Viyuhgaems. But first, anachronauts.

This is a very off the wall story. I takes two story ideas I had (“Scout and Susie do… something?” “We visit Los Angeles and run afoul of one of the Mister’s parting gifts”) and mashes them together, then filters them through a new writing approach: Children’s lit. Honestly, I have no idea if this would work as a story you read aloud to your kids, but one prereader who has a kid and one who doesn’t assured me it worked on its own, which is enough. I welcome feedback with your reactions to this approach.

Now, let me give a quick one sentence capsule summary of my grabs. Feel free to post about these, too.

Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood: I’ve had my eye on this series for awhile and know the capsule story. The idea of sneak-em-up multiplayer was fascinating, and I got it for $30, so I figured what the hell. Chaotic and confusing combat, walking in on the MIDDLE of a story, and getting lost trying to find my way around? Not so much fun. But I can see the potential and once I get used to things this should be enjoyable. May hit the skill wall fast.

Fallout New Vegas: Another $30 grab. I was waiting for a sale for this one (and maybe some bugfixes). I have 20 hours logged and I got it Friday night, which should say something for how involving it is. It is Fallout. That’s enough to turn my crank. Quiet exploration of the wasteland, story driven gameplay with many forks in the road… and this time, an honest to goodness THIRD OPTION beyond “help the holy righteous superdudes” and “help the evil baby eating bastards”. And it’s not just some middling neutral option, you can be moral AND be independent. Sweet!

Street Fighter 4 for PC: Ten buck grab. I have the 360 version, but bizarrely, I play better on a keyboard. Blame MAME for that.

Deathspank: It’s basically a Diablo parody, by the awesome guys at Hothead. And… it’s, well, not that fun yet. I chuckled a bit at the dialogue but it’s delivered by such slowly spoken, hamhanded actors that, combined with forced-on subtitles, you’ve read and laughed at the joke before they finish delivering it. Timing fumble. I’ll play more later, I suppose.

Indie Puzzle Pack: COGS and a bunch of other nice stuff.

Anyway. Story. Games. Good times. Feedback welcome.

Actions

Information

25 responses

29 11 2010
shadur

“Nice place you’ve made here. I think I’ll be taking it now…”
Yeah, I’m going with that option too.

29 11 2010
jengagne

The special black crayon-ish pencils I plan to use for illos are in the mail and will arrive tomorrow. :D I’ll use the black and white lineart as the basis for the color version. (that way we can go back to B&W or various degrees of grayscale as needed for a book version later.)
So, pencils in hand, tomorrow night I’ll sit with you and do some quickie character sketches so you can pick a visual style you dig.

29 11 2010
jengagne

Story commentary, mostly proofing:
— typo, “stiopped”
— “rolly-polly” : I think those words only get one L?
— Hmm, if Susie likes plants so much… yeah, she’s still a kid, it’s obligatory for her to consider the green things at dinner yucky. Heheh.
— I do love the “design and plan and make a special flower every day” idea VERY much here.
— “And they had maids and butlers” — how about “there were” instead of “they”? Otherwise it sounds like the friends at school have maids and butlers (they might, but.)
— Good explanation, Scout. (and very 28 Weeks Later DOOOM of course! Mueheheheh.)

29 11 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

…I totally forgot to mention that in my blog post, but, um, yeah. Jen’s illustrating the story! :D If I write this right and it can stand alone in a fairy tale sense, maybe we’ll reformat it as a printable children’s book.

29 11 2010
jengagne

Heheh, and I had assumed you didn’t mention it because you didn’t want to promise them anything; after all, the baby is showing up soon… But I WILL focus on it, I really really want to get this done for ya before D-Day! It seems exciting and fun to me. :D

29 11 2010
cmdr_zoom

The thing is, NCR isn’t even that holy or super. (Righteous, yes.) They like to talk big, and demand that you Respect Their Authoritah, but their ability to follow through (and their moral justification for doing so, aside from “see these guns?” is a bit suspect).

29 11 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

That’s ultimately why I went with Indie Vegas. Every time the NCR is mentioned by characters, it’s with the caveat that they’re overextended, bloated, inadequate, ineffective, etc. So even if they’re the ‘good guys’ they’ve got downsides.
Of course, there’s ZERO upside to the Legion. They’re all torturing, murdering, babyeating sons of bitches with no gray area. Shame there can’t be some sort of roguish element there.

29 11 2010
cmdr_zoom

Based on my pre-reading, I’ll probably side with the House. Highlight to read my reasoning:
Of course he’s an arrogant SOB, being both a Howard Hughes expy and a remnant of Pre-War attitudes. But he’s got a plan, the lifespan to see it through, and the acumen… as compared to the Courier, who is mostly good at revenge and not getting killed. Even if you think a messenger who’s taken at least one bullet to the head is qualified to run New Vegas, in 50 years, he or she will probably be in another grave, and then who’s left in charge of the Strip?

29 11 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Highlighties: Yeah, but just because he’s a brain in a jar with a long term plan doesn’t mean it’s a GOOD plan. He’s a control freak and he established Vegas by signing on crime families and kicking out any undesirables. The Courier, being basically a Ta’avern, can kick everybody in line towards a better tomorrow than the House can provide. Even if the Courier won’t live longer than, oh, any other human leader ever including Ceaser and the President, it’s worth having someone who can respect human rights in the big chair.

29 11 2010
kamalloy

I like seeing Emily from Susie’s perspective. She’s a good mom. And Susie’s clever, too, with her flower creation. I’m happy we get to see more of her.

29 11 2010
cmdr_zoom

Gah. Last edit, promise.
All of which NCR would do if they took over, and which the Courier will probably have to also. You don’t bring order out of chaos without breaking at least some eggs. Even Arcade Gannon, one of the most moral companions, acknowledges that some people just need killin’.
When it comes to building a nation, or a city-state, someone’s got to be The Man. There is a certain amount of dirty dealing and nose-holding involved in any realpolitik (as the current Wikileaks kerfuffle is showing). If the best government you can hope for is a benevolent (or at least indifferent) tyrant, which is what the third option seems to boil down to, I still think House is better qualified for the position. :/
Also, I had to go look up ta’avern. Dang you and your doorstopper fantasy books.

29 11 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Right now, their relationship is a pretty simple one; Emily is a caretaker, a teacher, and a role model. (And the one who makes her go to bed when she’s not done playing with her dolls.)
After London’s Fog, we’ll be skipping a few years, and should see a bit more sophistication in how Emily relates to them. She won’t have a Wild Teenage Rebellious Streak(tm) but she’ll be more than a receptacle for their wisdom.

30 11 2010
kowh

I waited long enough to hear that F:NV was patched into a playable state, that I figured I might as well wait for the game of the year edition and/or a really good sale, whichever comes first.

30 11 2010
30 11 2010
kowh

There are a rather large number of us. We’ve been burned too many times by Obsidian and Bethesda, the combination of both in one product is enough to offset the fact that it’s more Fallout. Well, that and a backlog of games I want to play.

30 11 2010
eyeless1

Quick heads-up: the link from the main page is pointing to London’s Fog 3 instead of Second Age 08.

30 11 2010
Anonymous

This story was absolutely adorable! It was a refreshing change of pace, even though I’m looking forward to a return to your usual style. Also, illustrations will be wonderful! :D

30 11 2010
eyeless1

Hm…
“– I do love the “design and plan and make a special flower every day” idea VERY much here.”
So does that mean each “chapter” will end with a little: “TODAY’S FLOWER:” drawing? That would be really cute. :)

30 11 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Danke. Fix’d.

30 11 2010
jengagne

Re: Hm…
Neat idea — we’ll see what Our Author thinks when we do art brainstorming tonight. :D

30 11 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Re: Hm…
I like the cut of your jib, Eyeless. Jen, make it so.

30 11 2010
mtws

The Legion is monstrous, but it isn’t quite that one-dimensional. There’s a certain amount of hell-bound road paving involved. If you haven’t met Hanlon at Camp Golf, he tells you a lot about how the Legion started.

31 01 2011
Anonymous

This is my first time i visit here. I found so many interesting stuff in your blog especially its discussion. From the tons of comments on your articles, I guess I am not the only one having all the enjoyment here! keep up the good work..

15 02 2011
Anonymous

Very good stuff.

20 03 2011
Anonymous

Thanks for good stuff

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

