sa07 is ready for launch

8 10 2010

It’s the final countdown.

Also, I’ve put a poll on the anachronauts home page. (It’s a semiskeevy free online poll. If it starts flashing up inappropriate ads I’ll remove it and look for something better.)

My theory is that the reason why I seem to have a readership of five or six people is because the majority of them are still reading the earlier stories and haven’t caught up to the drafts. The only VISIBLE signs that anybody’s out there are posts on this blog, and if “I’m all caught up” is the minority while plenty of others are in fact out there, then I can breathe easier. If not, well, then I’m doing the most complicated writing of my life for an audience you could fit in a phone booth during a college frat prank.

I’m thinking that for my next trick (because once anachronauts ends, I’m not not like I’m gonna STOP being a Writer) I’ll design a series that doesn’t rely so heavily on following a running narrative from A to Z. I mean, think about it; anachronauts doesn’t even reveal that it IS in fact a genre mashup world until the end of the entire first series. As far as we know prior to that, it’s just Fae and humans.

A series that hits the ground running with a graspable premise that doesn’t change much as you go isn’t implausible… I did it with A Future We’d Like to See, where the stories by and large stood alone, and we only had one history-shift point. I don’t think the work suffered because of it, it was just a different style.

Anyway. That’s for much, MUCH later. For now, we have sa07. Enjoy and feedback welcome.

Actions

Information

33 responses

8 10 2010
benabik

Couple of typos
“basic bucke-down safety harnesses” -> buckle-down?
“what could possibly go wrong?” -> “We’re all going to die!” ;-)

8 10 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Re: Couple of typos
Oh, don’t be silly. They’re not ALL going to die.

8 10 2010
kamalloy

I love it when a scene ends with “what could possibly go wrong?”
*evil grin*

8 10 2010
jengagne

"Hours span by" — spun, I suppose.
Louis… I can’t remember who Louis is. ;_; Oh wait, is that the pilot dude? Time will tell!
"uncanny ability with storing text " — how about "to store text"
Something about your description of Eliza thinking of Maria and going to sleep strikes a chord with me, good job.
"bucke-down" — buckle-down
Lesbian WIFE? Oooh. Wonder when they got hitched.
No dramatic countdown eh? Well, maybe the weather was closing in. The sudden launch is more fun. Good thing they were all bucked!
"It’s not that hard," says Una. Without mentioning the horrible fate of the last poor sucker Eastusa sent, of course. Heheheh.
Two clips eh? Well, I guess if she needs more firepower than that, they’re probably unable to escape anyway…
"the cow was unusually aggressive." Uh-huh. Hee hee!
"what could possibly go wrong?" AUGHHHHH. Una!! Don’t you know better by now?!

8 10 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Louis is a new character, and yes, he’s the pilot. I was hoping that was abundantly clear when he was piloting the ship and doing piloty things and referred to himself as a pilot and Elisa was talking about the troubles of pilots in the Frontliners pilot pilot pilot. c.c

8 10 2010
cmdr_zoom

I don’t usually have a lot to say, and what I do, I tend to via IM.
It’s good. You’re good. You’re always good. I like how it’s progressing. What else is there?

8 10 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

That’s helpful in and of itself. Thanks. :D

8 10 2010
jengagne

Yeah, I figured that out. But that was AFTER Elisa was looking for a “Louis”. Not that there was anything wrong with that approach, just left me going “huh, Louis?” and then “oh” after he showed up.
Then again, maybe he’s a vampire from New Orleans. :D

8 10 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Sadly, I think the only vampires on Earth died 75 years ago in the African war zones.

8 10 2010
jengagne

An entire colony of actual sun-avoidant vampires in Africa… yeah, I can see how that might not have gone well. Wonder how they survived on their home planet? Sustainable farming?

8 10 2010
Anonymous

I’ve been reading…
Every part as soon as it came out, until just recently, when I started lacking free time for anything but TF2.
-NeoVid

8 10 2010
iponly

I liked A Future We’d Like to See. And your slayers fic, which is how I found you, and your NwN stuff was great, and Sailor Nothing too for that matter. I admit, I haven’t been reading anachronauts- the genre smush and the characters I encountered in the first arc didn’t appeal to me. Been sticking around, waiting to see what you do next.

8 10 2010
lucilleliu

I’m here and I’m still reading and enjoying. Sometimes I don’t comment because I don’t have anything to say, but I promise I’m here.
You’re a good writer. One day I hope you seriously look into publishing (or self-publishing). I know you did it with Anachronauts but I could read that stuff for free on the web.

8 10 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

It’s gonna be awhile before I switch projects. I’ve got 1.6 more story arcs to finish.

8 10 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

The First Age book does have a bonus chapter you can’t get for free on the web. I’m planning to do one book per story arc, each with bonus chapter.
I’m iffy on doing a FULL book with all new material. My audience is very small, and spending months working on a novel that maybe a dozen people will read isn’t a good exchange. Especially not when I shed readers the longer I go between online updates, as witnessed when I spent a few years working on computer games.

8 10 2010
iponly

You say that like it’s supposed to be a deterrent or something. If I’ve found a good author who puts stuff online for free, I’m not about to forget ’em just because they’re doing something I’m not reading/playing for a few years.

9 10 2010
lumenadducere

I began reading a little while ago – just about when you started London’s Fog, I think – and I’m caught up. Other than your NWN modules this is the first thing of yours I’ve actually read, and I’ve enjoyed it so far. I keep meaning to get into Sailor Nothing and/or your other works, but I just never seem to get around to it.
Keep it up. I think you’re doing a great job, and while it’s undoubtedly frustrating to not have more readers, the ones who are reading it are definitely liking it. :-)

9 10 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Just knowing you’re out there helps!
It’s really difficult to get a perception on my audience; the only metric I have is feedback on the drafts, which not every reader is up to or interested in. (Plenty prefer to read the final copies, and that’s totally fine, really.)
Thanks for reading. :) Keep reading and I’ll keep writing. CIRCLE OF LIIIIFE o/~

9 10 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

I appreciate that. :D I kinda lost a few folks when I went NWN, so stick-to-it-ive-ness is an awesome trait.

9 10 2010
eyeless1

I’ll admit, I was one of ’em. I deliberately stay away from MMOs because I have a personality that easily gets addicted to those kinds of things. Heck, I only found out about this new venture because I still had your LJ account in my bookmarks, and clicked on it by accident; I’d have never known otherwise. I’m glad I did, but I can definitely see where you’re coming from, in that your big problem is that you’re doing great work, but nobody knows about it.

9 10 2010
eyeless1

BTW…
Ever consider revisiting the UE page? At the least, getting rid of the [draft] tags… and maybe replacing that bright, retina-scarring purple?

10 10 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Re: BTW…
It’s on my to-do list. Especially since I’m gonna promo-push it along with my other writing.
I think the color scheme’s gotta stay, though. It’s just too baked into the design. It’s not the best, but it’s what I’ve got.

10 10 2010
Anonymous

Me and my best friend are still actively-reading-and-loving-it Anachronauts fans. I’m up-to-date, and I think she is as well.
Have I mentioned I love Gilbert and Jesse as a couple? I love Gilbert and Jesse as a couple.

10 10 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

They rock harder than I thought they were going to. They were pretty much destined when I thought up the truth behind The Mister’s promise to Gilbert, but they’ve meshed pretty well despite being near opposites. I LOVE writing those two.
By this point, the ‘core cast’ are basically three married couples (Scout/Emily, Una/Nel, Jesse/Gilbert). I’m gonna throttle back from doing Obvious Pairings in the future. Don’t wanna get predictable. (best example: Melvin and Sylph. Squashin’ that now. Although their little threesome will be friends for some time to come.)

10 10 2010
lirazel

Sigh. I guess that means Benny/Chloe is doomed.

10 10 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

There’s more than one kind of love, fortunately.

10 10 2010
meredy

But most other kinds of love are illegal in most countries!
Which is horrible since they’re also the FUN kinds of love ;_;

12 10 2010
Anonymous

t4ci3
Oh, you have a larger readership than that, I promise you. Some people just have trouble adjusting to the new age of communication where an author is someone you could reasonably be in contact with.
For example, I’VE been reading you since highschool and never write ’till now.

12 10 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Re: t4ci3
Zowie. Appropriate, since I’ve been writing since high school.
Well, thanks for saying hi, regardless. :D It’s appreciated!

12 10 2010
Anonymous

Re: t4ci3
Oh, to further emphasize the sticking-power of your fans; I may have found you in highschool, but at the moment I’m old enough to be flattered when I get carded. I think it’s been…2 websites since then?

12 10 2010
Anonymous

On a related subject — are elves and humans interfertile?

12 10 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Yes.
Buy the book to find out how. :D

18 10 2010
Anonymous

On the flip side, you have cases like mine – I found your work after a three-day HeX Coda spree, where I played essentially with very minimal breaks for sleep and eating up until the end of what had been released for number two… and waited. And waited. Then I decided I would stalk your blog incessantly for updates (this was before you’d given up for good), ended up finding Unreal Estate… and it all went downhill from there~
(The HeX Coda series still hold a special place in my heart as the only NWN mods I have ever enjoyed.)

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

