lf02 goes once more into the breach

1 10 2010

What if they threw a war and everybody came?

This completes London’s Fog 02. Secrets are learned, blood is shed, and a horrible time is had by all.

Also, this leaves me in a bit of a pickle as I only have vague ideas for what my next story will be, which you guys are expecting on Tuesday. I’ve got a brief concept sketch… showing Una and Nel’s little group of anachronauts visiting various places we haven’t seen yet. Doesn’t give them much of a chance to shine as the focus is on tourism, but might be a fun tour. Not sure. We’ll see.

If all else fails, I can call Tuesday a working day and get cracking on the Forsaken Shores bonus chapter. That’s more or less outlined and ready to go, but means I’d be working on something you can’t see just yet. Still a cover to design, a PDF to prep, etc… busy, busy.

For now, enjoy lf02. Feedback welcome. Anyone surprised by the ending?

Actions

Information

18 responses

1 10 2010
cmdr_zoom

Slightly. By Chloe turning out to be _____, more so.
The ending reminds me of two possibilities – one, an old Twilight Zone episode (“The Howling Man”) where monks really do have the Devil as their prisoner, and two, “Those Who Walk Away From Omelas”, where a utopian community is made possible only by the abject suffering of an innocent (see also the recent Who episode “The Beast Below”). I imagine there are those who would claim both scenarios are actually one and the same. (“If the Devil did not exist, it would be necessary to invent him.”)

1 10 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

You don’t gotta censor. By the time someone hits the comments on the blog they’re expected to have read the story update.
There’s an ongoing theme in anachronauts of Aesoptinum (WARNING: tvtropes will ruin your life). When one man’s fuel is another man’s suffering, there can be no peace and no balance. I’d call it a “green” theme but then I’d get bashed by teaparty teabaggers, I’m guessing.
EDIT: Related trope, probably closer: Powered By a Forsaken Child.

1 10 2010
cmdr_zoom

“All you have to do… is be complicit.”

1 10 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Heck, lemme see if I can list ’em all!
Eastsua = Probably not a great example anymore, as being surrounded by enemies means that you go resource conservative or you die. It’s been noted that ‘under the hood’ of their throwback aesthetics are some tech improvements to do a lot with a little.
Fae = Generally harmonious with nature, but the Winterfae laid waste to Canada because they “needed their space” and the nobles do employ indentured servants to empower their lifestyles. Also, Wendigoes target those who eat others to survive.
Orbitals = This one should be patently obvious as it was the crux of the entire first series. And it’s the reason they’re having rolling backouts now; they never prepared for the possibility that they WOULDN’T have an endless supply of predigested planet mass.
Demons = That’s The Mister in a nutshell. Benny, oddly, is almost the opposite; he trades, he doesn’t swindle, and he never directly takes life. It’s all an exchange of goods to him. Granted, the end result is sometimes genocide, but.
Los Muertos = Human resources. Nuff said.
Seattle = They ate the city to generate enough nanomatter for their military decoy. Of course, in the process they gained human insight and were horrified about it.
Vancouver / “Happiness” = Pretty prime example, here. Drain the endorphins from humans to generate a drug for taskmasters who don’t even exist anymore. It even allowed rebels to exist just to make sure they were satisfied with their idea of living. At least it was trying to be “nice” about it, in a horrible way.
Anchorage = Every vote counts. Also, we enjoy eating your sanity and sometimes your bodies.
British Empire = …well, you’ll see.

2 10 2010
lirazel

Just wanted you to know that as I picked up my Droid this evening to check on the day’s doings (I was in a “seminar” all day), I thought to myself, “Oh good, it’s Friday, there’ll be a new Anachronauts.”
Honestly and truly, that’s what I thought.
Poor, poor, loligoth angelic Chloe, constantly surprised by the Law of Unintended Consequences.

2 10 2010
lucilleliu

I know that’s what helps me get through slow, boring Fridays, too.

2 10 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

^_^!

2 10 2010
lirazel

Also, the Fae were trying to build an army of human magic-users who would burn out their own brains at the Summer Queen’s behest, yes?

2 10 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Indeed. That’s more “pure nasty” than “we need fuel” based, but it’s still letting someone else suffer to give yourself power.

3 10 2010
Anonymous

I realize the project’s long been dead now…
But I’ve noticed that most of the custom music in Hex Coda 01 doesn’t work on the latest version of NWN, with the exception of Lester’s music in the 4/4ths. Since that one works I figure I’ve installed everything correctly, but none of the other music’s working. Do you know of a fix?

3 10 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Re: I realize the project’s long been dead now…
Weeeird. I’m not sure of a fix… I used Bioware’s MP3toBMU tool to make the files. I don’t know anything about if they changed formats or not. Might be that only certain bitrates are allowed now? Sorry I can’t be of more help.

4 10 2010
Anonymous

Typographic suggestion
I would find more… awesomerriffic ? if it was set on a fixed column instead of a liquid one. And if I look into the code, it’s a simple matter of adding a ‘width: 600px;’ rule (or ‘width: 40em’ if you’re into weird units) in that p.prose class in the css file.
I don’t know how it would affect mobile reader though.
–HP, too lazy to register anywhere. Also, think it would be neatly funny if Anachronauts-Switzerland had reverted to their mercenary days, with *clockword crossbows and pikes*.

4 10 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Re: Typographic suggestion
Personally, I prefer fluid. It lets the user set it to whatever width they want, without forcing everybody to view it MY WAYYYY. It’s the reason why I poured a lot of work into the home page to make sure it was fluid too, despite being bordered by graphics.
Sadly, I think England has taken over the clockwork/steam schtick. Although the last vestiges of the Napoleonic Empire, which perished years ago, had some of that going on. The point of the Pandora Event was to make these factions kill each other off (in theory) so it’s no surprise a few didn’t survive the two centuries of open warfare…

5 10 2010
jengagne

Re: Typographic suggestion
Isn’t Switzerland owned by the Brits now anyway, in the story?
Fluid works for me, and yeah HP, it’s better for mobile reader too. Just set your brower to a narrower window if that’s your pref, eh?

5 10 2010
Anonymous

Re: Typographic suggestion
No problem; I just set the size manually with firebug everytime I want to read on my computer.
-HP

6 10 2010
poet_ninja

I was actually noticing the Aesoptinum theme, overall. (And yes, yes it will!)
I’m very curious about the identity of our chained conspirator, now. In a way, he already sort of reminds me of the Mister (and seems to have ties on the other side of that particular divide, given the language).
Admittedly, the situations are a lot different. The Mister was definitely interested in causing trouble, as opposed to our new … let’s call it “The Chained One,” for now, just for a label. So yeah. As opposed to the TCO’s apparent efforts to expressly reduce trouble.

6 10 2010
poet_ninja

Benny strikes me as not really that good at being a demon any more. Particularly true since his betrayals of The Mister. I’d really like to see him get the option to … well, “go good” and “redeem himself” don’t seem like good mixes, there. Hrm.
Plus Redemption tropes have suuuch a nasty tendency to be death tropes.
And I’m going to go with the theory that the British Empire is powered by literally-angelic steam, based on Jeeves’ previous actions, Benny’s reaction, and that last paragraph.

21 10 2010
tozetre

Finally getting around to reading this. :T
“namey shiny husbands.” I think you meant “namely.”
“Having said his peace” Piece.
Just making sure, but are you spelling it Dreadnacht on purpose, for the German pun, or did you mean to spell it Dreadnought?
Also, moar plx.

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

