17 06 2010

Hm, what’s this?

Actions

Information

16 responses

17 06 2010
Anonymous

Woah. Creepy. But it’s awesome how you’re never afraid to experiment.

17 06 2010
lirazel

Mysterious! But why is a dead person watching livejournal info threads?

17 06 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Because new LJ accounts watch those by default. I’ll remove them later.

17 06 2010
meredy

I’m not sure if I’m horrified at the idea that LJ lives on hundreds of years in the future or not. Interesting idea though!

17 06 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

I considered doing it all within the Anachronauts site, but I liked the mixed-media of putting a social networking based story in a real social network.
I’m wondering when we’ll see the first in-character fan replies to the entries. :D

17 06 2010
jengagne

Ooooh, interesting.
And I wonder if anybody will comment over there. I’d be hesitant to do so since I’d feel obliged to be “in character” for an EastUSA native. … or a really enterprising SexyElf type with internet access! … and if you felt like it you could add fake comments too, I suspect. Lots of possibilities here.

17 06 2010
jengagne

Oh, and behind that LJ cut is a story! Duhrr, should’ve spotted that sooner.
Really intriguing with that Mysterious Assassin. :D
And the whole summary of how Eastusa survived, I like that. Sounds very plausible.
Wish I had more detailed comments for ya, but. Busy day. ;_;

17 06 2010
storytellersjk

What ‘this’ is, is a clever little piece of writing that brings me back to the more experimental days of Sailor Nothing. While the idea of a fictional blog is hardly a new one (this is one of the absolute best examples of the this device I’ve seen: http://www.dionaea-house.com/default.htm ) I’m sure you are aware of that. Its basically a example of the found footage approach to movie making that worked so well for Blair Witch and Cloverfield. What this technique needs is verisimilitude to really sell the gimmick. And that is something that your writing has to spare.
I love the idea of alternate, could be, futures. Its why I enjoy the excellent DMZ, a comic book about a civil war 20 years into the future that turns Manhattan into the eponymous demilitarized zone, for example. So a blog that is as much a look into Eastusa life and culture, something I have been primed to see ever since Brains, as its is a story feels rather perfect to me. I think your two biggest strengths as a writer is your ability with character development and your skills at world building. Which means Wallflowers should be a real treat. Certainly what we have here so far is great stuff and I eagerly look forward to more.

17 06 2010
lirazel

Oh, look, she has friends!

18 06 2010
ranneko

Does this mean that EastUSA has a lot of in-city farms, rooftop and windows gardens and the like? To try to maximise the ability to grow food considering the population density and lack of outside nations to trade with?

18 06 2010
mtws

“This” is also a minor heart attack moment if the first thing you see is the one-line paragraph that says “If you’re reading this that means I’m dead.” Then I looked at the top and saw EastUSA and was like “Oh, a-durr.”
For the record: I am both intrigued by the story and pleased that your earthly meat-shell continues to function.

19 06 2010
jengagne

Wouldn’t surprise me — although I suppose it’s left open to speculation just how dense the population really still was immediately post-Pandora, even with refugees. The general goal of Pandora-type events is to mow down the natives, after all…
Yet we do see that in modern times they have enough people to live in the fortified cities. Since it was a cold war for the last few decades, that must’ve helped them build up.
And they also have farming-friendly frontiers like Olney. I bet crops grow absurdly well so close to Summer’s turf. ;)

19 06 2010
vulpisfoxfire

Heh. I’m kind of wondering about the people who have no *clue* about anachronauts running across that thing and taking it too seriously, myself. Given the number of emo, angst, and suicide-diary blogs out there, I’m not sure this thing is in decent taste. :-/

19 06 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

I’ll add a disclaimer.

19 06 2010
vulpisfoxfire

That’ll work. Sorry if I came off sounding nasty–it’s just that I’ve seen too many of these things, between the ones I described before, ones like yours that are meant to be part of some other project either literary or ARG, and the Internet Drama types who are flat out *lying* to get attention–a disclaimer at least helps set off the middle category from the other two. :-/

20 06 2010
ranneko

The only problem is that I’m not sure what the point is of replying to a dead person. I can’t exactly expect a response from a program that is automatically posting random entries.

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

