Today’s Twitterings

27 05 2010
  • 00:27 I hate it when people use “I’m blonde” as an actual excuse for incompetence and/or laziness. #techsupportsucks Going to bed now. #
  • 08:06 Listening to samples from the new Stone Temple Pilots album while working. It’s.. kinda… I dunno. Fluffy and uninteresting. I miss grunge. #
  • 08:08 Grunge was angry and raw without being growly heavy metal. It was emotional without being sniveling emo. Intense without being prog. Etc. #
  • 11:00 A little something for all my tabletop miniature wargaming nerd homies out there. kotaku.com/5548152/now-its-warhammer-40k #
  • 13:04 Irony:iTunes random play puts “Bulls on Parade” next to “I’ll Sue Ya.” (RatM broke up and reformed at exactly the wrong times, missing Bush) #
  • 16:06 Internet went splat earlier. Back now. This better not become a trend. Also: Red Dead Redemption looks delicious, but I wanna mouse+kbd. #
  • 21:44 Politics + Internet — UR DOIN IT WRONG. Good lesson for gov’t websites and social media, too. bit.ly/aVAii5 #
  • 22:22 Started getting a headache. And it feels sinus-y. If I have the plague that Jen and Andy had, my Memorial Day weekend’s gonna suck on ice. #
Actions

Information

2 responses

28 05 2010
boringplanet

Grunge vs. Emo
Man! You said it. I soooo agree with your tweet:
“08:08 Grunge was angry and raw without being growly heavy metal…”
I can’t stand the majority of that kind of music. I have come up with one name that describes it all (for me): “emo screamo power-pop post-punk pop-punk metalcore progcore hardcore”. Most of it gives me a headache. Too many of the vocal styles sound way too similar to one another. I like a little prog now and then, i.e. Dream Theater, but not in every stinkin’ band/song. I also find the following current trend to be annoying, weak, un-original and brain-dead: labeling music as [music style]+”core“.
I will be laughing along with those scenesters when they grow up and realize how silly their music was, as well as their annoying skinny low jeans, with their boxers showing. Heck, I enjoy laughing at myself when I recall the silly music/styles I enjoyed at a younger age =).

28 05 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Re: Grunge vs. Emo
Granted, grunge was a screamo precursor. But where modern styles are pretentiously whiny, grunge was more surreal and distant in its anger and despair. Cobain’s lyrics rarely actually made sense, except to instill a sense of unease. It’s a subtle difference, and it hardly means that grunge lyrics were some literary masterwork of maturity and depth, but it does explain why it grates less.

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

