Today’s Twitterings

22 05 2010
  • 08:11 Since I got on board with Fringe juuust a few weeks too late, I won’t get to see Season 2 until the DVD release. Yohoho, I guess. #
  • 08:48 For a little window between 1988 and 1994, we had an explosion of evolving PC music cards. Fun time to be a gamer. bit.ly/aapQv9 #
  • 11:25 Google embeds Pac-Man in its logo to celebrate its 30th anniversary. Other than paths not lining up, this is sweet! www.google.com/ #
  • 12:14 Gonna give my iPod to my dad. This device has no further purpose within the context of my life thanks to the iPhone. 60 gigs is nice but eh. #
  • 13:33 So tempted to retweet that, Mal. …ah, heck, I will! Ahaahaha RT: @radiomaru: All I do is PEE!!! WHY DOES GOD HATE ME?!?! #
  • 14:13 From @DoriStehlin, behold Computer Engineer Barbie! This is actually pretty cool. Geek is chic, not a stigma. bit.ly/dDyzHD #
Actions

Information

4 responses

22 05 2010
cmdr_zoom

Yup, I remember that period when sound cards were like (3D) video cards today…
It was either Wing Commander or Stellar 7 – or possibly both – that sold me my first card, the good old SB16, which I put in my 486/33. I think I actually still have it mounted in its successor, the Pentium 100 I keep as a DOS gaming machine.

22 05 2010
meagenimage

Aah, I remember having to set the right DMA and IRQ for the sound card on early DOS games, and if you got the wrong values the game would have no sound or crash outright, and sometimes the autodetect would work and sometimes it wouldn’t…

22 05 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Wing Commander was fun — because exactly what special effects and audio you got depended on how much memory you had free, right down to the single and double digits of K. Free up another 28k? Okay, you get bigger explosions. Got another 32k? More animation during cutscenes! Etc. It rewarded people who REALLY knew how to wrangle device drivers and EMS.

22 05 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

GOD. Dealing with Soundblasters and setting DMA/IRQ was a right pain in the ass. The results were golden, provided you could get it working, but good luck with that…
I had a Gravis Ultrasound I won in a contest, once. God-tier sound card, amazing stuff, but it didn’t have much support and what support it had was buggy as hell, so I eventually sold it. Shame, it was the favored card of the demoscene, thanks to on-board digital channel mixing.

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

