Y Halo Thar

16 04 2010

Went into the bathroom today to take my Motrin (today’s the last day I chug a steady supply; tomorrow it’s nighttime only). Looked up in the mirror, and actually smiled and said hello to myself. That’s totally normal behavior when you’re on drugs, I suspect, but it highlighted something: I feel good today.

Many days I’m either humdrum or melancholy or miserable. Feeling like things are just going, not going well. But after two weeks of off and on agony or fever delerium or inability to move around or other horribleness… having one day where I just flat out feel alive is the most awesome thing in the world and really brings everything into focus.

When you’re sick, you can’t even remember what it felt like to be healthy, that’s how overwhelming the illness is. Coming out of that is like shifting from a harsh winter right to a nice 72′ spring day. It’s refreshing as hell.

My life is actually pretty damn good. I’ve got two great jobs; they have their annoyances but they also paid for the house that I own, they give me the lifestyle I want. I’ve got friends nearby and afar. I’ve got creative success on multiple fronts, with new things on the horizon like my book. I’m enjoying works of art and fiction, like rewatching my DS9 disks or reading new books or playing new games. On the whole there’s a lot to be happy about.

Any problems I have are, to quote MC Frontalot, “first world problems”. Things which are not threatening to your continued survival, just things that skew a few degrees to the left without derailing you. Even illness couldn’t take me down in the end. Huzzah.

Of course, this natural high probably won’t last. But I think I’ll enjoy it while I can, because, y notte.

Actions

Information

2 responses

16 04 2010
kamalloy

Glad you’re feeling good today!
Also, the going from winter straight to 72 degrees is not all that uncommon around here, as you’ve no doubt noticed. ;)

17 04 2010
lirazel

Yes.
And what a joy to be able to notice that life is good.

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

