fs04a has an e ticket

27 02 2010

It’s the happiest place on Earth.

fs04 is going to be split into three parts — fs04a, fs04b, fs04c. Why this is to be will become immediately obvious. I considered interleaving the scenes from the three narrative threads, but that murdered any tension and mystery, and I likes me some tension and mystery.

This one will be a rough juggling act, even so, particularly fs04a. Any genre-aware person is going to have a reasonable clue as to What’s Up. So, I don’t expect any of these stories to be particularly lengthy. Just a fun exploration into a concept, a trope, a subversion.

Also, tweetings.

  • 01:10 Doing a little LIGHT outlining before bed. I’m not as manic as I was days previous, now that I have a solid concept: fs04a, fs04b, fs04c. #
  • 09:10 RBN isn’t just for indies, folks. Yow! RT: @RBNnews: #RBN song: “Bullet With Butterfly Wings” / The Smashing Pumpkins / author: jakev-emi #
  • 10:14 YES FINALLY SILVERSUN PICKUPS PANIC SWITCH IN ROCK BAND *explodes with joy.* I actually don’t dig most of their music, but THAT one rocks. #
  • 11:41 Aching, fatigued, semi-woozy, freezing cold. What a weird physical shape I’m in today. At least I can adjust the house thermostat. #
  • 19:27 Great story about how social media helped a band take off — and a record label prove themselves shortsighted morons. nyti.ms/aXJTMB #
  • 21:36 Since “peer review” in #RBN is just about appropriateness and not about charting, I can actually preview and verify tracks from my desk. #
Actions

Information

5 responses

27 02 2010
jengagne

I love these definitions you start each chapter with. So appropriate. :D
deciever -> deceiver (I before E except after C)
Interesting that Nel would ID Legolas in particular. I wonder how many fae
have watched LOTR in MST3k fashion? Heheheh…. on the other hand, it does
embody the Elves are Ninjas, Only Cooler mentality.
Nel may have also heard rumors that there was a Temple of the Mouse on the
west coast somewhere. This works as-is though.
incredilous -> incredulous
This is gonna be good. :D

27 02 2010
pyromaniac_ks

Elves entire thing in Tolkein writing is basically “They’re like you! Only better!” anyway. So I imagine there’s a certain amount of escapist entertainment value in there for real elves, yeah.

27 02 2010
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Got it in one. LOTR is very popular with the elves of the Faerie Court, because by definition, Fae-style elves are nothing special. No blood gifts, no innate talents, no breeding lineage, etc. They’re the unwashed masses. Reading books about how awesome elves are is escapism.
Una and Nel’s favorite books so far are Lord of the Rings, and 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea. Nel did get Una that leatherbound Jules Verne library for christmas.

27 02 2010
jengagne

Yeah, I should’ve just gone ahead and linked. But my point is, she _visually_ ID’d a plushie SD Legolas somehow. Hence my wondering about the movies, not the books.

1 03 2010
schadrach

Well, my guess on that is what seems most intuitively obvious — this is something whose version produced by a certain super-scientist in a certain other series was literally powered by a forsaken child (well, not *all* of it).
Assuming of course that lotuses are in fact being eaten, it only makes sense that she ID’d it immediately, as it is exactly what she’d envision someone in a plushie Legolas suit to look like in the first place.
I’m far more interested in the assumed to be less overtly cheerful place(s) that Gilbert and/or Jesse are at right now… =)

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

