sick.

8 12 2009

Fever of 100.3. Belching/throwing up, diahrrea. Can’t sleep, burping every 20 seconds, keeping me up. Kinda delerious. Sitting up and focusing on letting the meds do their work.

EDIT: Why didn’t I think of this before? Vacuous children’s cartoons and sitcom reruns while lying down on the couch keep me engaged enough not to give into delerium, AND let me rest a bit while I wait for the burping to go away. I feel (marginally) (very marginally) better.

EDIT #2: When you’ve been lying on your side for an hour, do not lie on your stomach unless you want to horf up all the medication you’ve taken. Agh. I’m upright and weirdly energized right now, so, hitting the web.

EDIT #3: PROTIP: Soda bad. That’s horf #5. I give up; no more drugs and no liquids except water until I sleep.

EDIT #4: Monty Python is too disorienting when you have the flu. Tried a little water, lied down, horf. Trying ice chips and uprightness. Seriously considering the emergency room, I have NO idea how the hell I’m going to be able to get to sleep.

OMEGA EDIT: Okay, I twittered what happened, but couldn’t log into LJ from my mom’s Kindle to repeat it here.

I ended up being hospitalized for severe dehydration and nausea. They moved me from the ER to a full hospital room soon after that. IV bags kept me going and medicated, gave me system a chance to recover. 18 hours later I was discharged. Got back to my NEW house (whee!) and set up my PC and networking stuff and here I am.

I’m still under the weather with a GI (gastrointestinal infection), something that’s apparently been going around here. But under the weather is also under control, with fluid intake and a stomach that’s calmed down considerably. Over the next few days I’m taking it easy, going slowly with the unpacking and setup of my new place.

Thanks for your well wishes, folks. It’s been a horribly ugly pair of days. PROTIP: Don’t drink from water fountains right next to men’s rooms. I suspect that’s what did me in. Some jerk not washing up and then going for a cool drink.

Actions

Information

22 responses

9 12 2009
raigne

Sounds pretty much how I felt the first few hours of having a stomach flu. The vomiting stopped when my stomach was empty, the belching ended a few hours later, and the diarrhea took almost 24 hours to cease, though after the first 14 it tapered off to once every two or three hours instead of once every 20-30 minutes.
If that’s what you have, it’s really unpleasant, but thankfully doesn’t last more than a couple days at most.

9 12 2009
jengagne

I heard… ugh. Good luck with this, man, I’m sympathetic!
We’re setting up your shelves meanwhile. Don’t worry at all about the move, that’s what your staff is for. :D

9 12 2009
hit_people_guy

take care buddy!

9 12 2009
tekalynn

Blah. Get well soon.

9 12 2009
cmdr_zoom

So very, very sorry. :(

9 12 2009
tozetre

Yes, doctor plz. ;_;

9 12 2009
lirazel

What he said. Small body must not get dehydrated.

9 12 2009
jengagne

Try not to worry… he got worse, but he’s getting doctored now. (Oh no, I’ve violated the confidentiality provisions of HIPAA! I’ll lose my license for sure!)

9 12 2009
1ndustria

Ack! Get well soon!

9 12 2009
kamalloy

Geh. Hope you feel better soon.

9 12 2009
cmdr_zoom

Oh noes!

10 12 2009
jengagne

Status update: Now he’s hospitalized. They’re getting him rehydrated and trying to stop the vomiting. It’s bad gastroenteritis, some virus that’s “been going around” as virii do.
He looks like a wrung-out rag, but apparently he’ll be fine. Still, scary!

10 12 2009
lirazel

Damn, I just hate being right about stuff like this. I know how much he loves hospitals, too. ~_~

10 12 2009
raigne

What is it with you people and the hospital this year? =\ Hope Twoof feels better soon. :(

10 12 2009
jengagne

Latest and greatest news: He’s reportedly doing much better today. Had some Jello. They’re expecting to let him out and then I’m sure he’ll post (whenever he’s up for it) to give you all his side of the lovely, lovely experience.

10 12 2009
jaeai

Yay! How the hell did it get past the Mississippi this fast? (First time to the computer in a while)

10 12 2009
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Thanks for keeping folks up to date, Jen. :D

10 12 2009
keikotakamura

Lemme know if I can help. <3
I just confirmed my new backup singer is going to be there singin’ with me tomorrow! So the show is going to be majorly awesome. :D

10 12 2009
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Thankfully Meissa’s been handling a lot of the needs for the show without me — setting up the stage, getting an auction system up, etc. We should be fine for the actual show and I’ll be in decent enough shape to do it. Looking forward to the Shebangs!

11 12 2009
jengagne

Happy to, 2f.
For folks in this thread that don’t think to check the increasingly aged original post for updates — see above.

11 12 2009
lirazel

Yeah, thanks!

11 12 2009
doxxxicle

Glad to hear you’re recovering. :)

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

