a08 is undergoing the firey ritual of carousel

23 08 2009

This is actually about 40% of the chapter.

That worries me, a little. I thought of ways to expand the plot I had planned, but honestly, it’d just end up being padding. I added the Braid of Dawn to a07 to “add some conflict” since I was assuming a07 would be a skimpy stuff-happens-whatever chapter, but it didn’t work out as I’d planned, so I kept the ‘final confrontation’ nice and simple.

How’s a08 going to pan out? I have no idea. I’m incapable of really evaluating my own work. Hopefully you’ll enjoy it.

a07 is still draft; I’m going to finalize it later. I just wanted to get some new material out. Once a08 is in the can… I’ll begin the Grand Editing Pass, which will kick the stories into publishable shape, and I can start looking into options. It may end up being unfeasible to self-publish, due to sheer page count.

But it seems Amazon.com’s Kindle store (which you can read on a PC or an iPhone, too) will be an easy option, as well as LuLu’s e-books. All versions, electronic or paper, will include a bonus story that won’t be published on the website. But… that’s for the future. For now, a08.

Actions

Information

11 responses

24 08 2009
storytellersjk

“Now, terror, that there was plenty of…” Damn it I should have known better to read this while drinking. I hope you are happy 2f because you just made me spit water all over my computer monitor. I know I’m enjoying a work when I find myself so nervous about the characters that I start repeatedly tapping my fingers along my desk. While reading this it sounded like someone was playing drums in my room. Loudly. So yeah, so far so good.

24 08 2009
raigne

Haven’t read in awhile, since I’ve been distracted with rl, but I’d be wary of Amazon. They take somewhere between 30% and 40% of what you make off the book, AND they require that you give them the lowest price on your book.

24 08 2009
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Yeah, I know. LuLu offers a better deal, 100% of the profit. But Amazon is more popular, and offers a wider audience. I think if I standardize the ebook version’s price I could launch in both places. This is not my day job; I can afford to be slightly ripped off.

24 08 2009
shachihoko

Looking damn good so far, apart from typos … would you like me to go hunting on this chapter too?

24 08 2009
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Sure, but you may as well wait until I finish. Then I can roll it into the Grand Editing Pass.
This week could either be insane for me so I don’t have time to write, or insane for me and I want to write to get away from it all. I could finish late or really soon. Not sure. I have most of the dialogue for the finale already written into my outline, at least. I’ve had it in my head for two months now.

24 08 2009
shachihoko

Righty-ho, then.

24 08 2009
tozetre

grammar nitpick: “where people worked, slept, ate, fell in love, and go through their lives.” should be “went through” to agree in tense.
Lookin’ good though! I wanna see what happens next.

24 08 2009
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Yeah, that’s an artifact from multiple edits of the same line.
I did a sweep through the first two scenes twice, because I kept feeling like they sucked. I’m still not totally happy with Nel’s sendoff with Una, since that’s the last time they’ll see each other alive OMG*!
* I’m lying.

24 08 2009
tozetre

NOOOOOO fairy space lesbians NOOOOOOOO*
* Oh, okay.

25 08 2009
lirazel

I felt a sense of both rushing and stiffness about the first two scenes. Don’t be afraid to make them longer, but be judicious about it. I think that perhaps — perhaps! — there’s a bit too much Emily. I know she’s the POV, but perhaps ease up just a bit?

25 08 2009
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Possible. I definitely want to take another pass at them before I post my next draft. I can expand “And Scout thought this…” and such.

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

