a07 thinks you look beautiful in the moonlight, buuuuddy

9 08 2009

I dedicate these scenes to John Hughes.

a07 is going to give me even more opportunity to write wackiness and goofy romance. There will be, y’know, plot and conflict, but this chapter is basically a big ‘ol breather for our cast who (as I’ve noted in this update) have packed a HELL of a lot of madness into two single days. They deserve a break before the other shoe drops in a08.

It’s not many scenes, but frankly, I’ve had a weaksauce day. Random DVD, random games, nothing new, nothing cool, nothing happening. Lotta sitting around burning daylight. I don’t like that; I want SOMETHING to show for my day at the end of every day, be it creative or at least experiential. It meant staying up pretty damn late, but ereyar, the end result of forcing myself past my usual restless/apathetic state. I think the writing came out okay despite that.

Feedback welcome. Y’all enjoying the WAFFy?

Actions

Information

9 responses

9 08 2009
eyeless1

“Let the education begin!”
FEAR.

9 08 2009
cmdr_zoom

You just know there’s going to be a lesson on the proper application of a boombox (what should be playing on it, when you should be standing outside her window holding it up, etc).

9 08 2009
shachihoko

*laughs at the current end of chapter*
This can only end in wacky hijinks. XD I can’t wait to see where it goes from here … although I’m already wondering what kind of chaos is going to interrupt those wacky hijinks. Can you get away with letting the comedic romance play out for a bit …. ?

9 08 2009
Anonymous

I LOVE WACKY ROMANTIC HIJINKS! If there is one difference between UE and Anachronauts it’s that UE had a lot of fluffiness before the main plot kicked in. Anachronauts has been very plot-focused (which is cool) but a little fluff would be a breath of fresh air.
Sexy Elf boy is seriously cracking me up. Your side characters are so likable. Emily’s mentor, the Lion…they could be side stories unto themselves (which I’m sure you have planned already).
I sort of saw the Una/Nel thing coming. It’d be interesting. I’m curious to see how far you’ll take it.

10 08 2009
lirazel

Oh good gravy, what sort of favors is Scout going to end up owing?
Inquiring minds want to know!
I also sort of saw the Nel/Una pair, although oodles of gratitude is not the sort of thing on which to build Terew Luff.

10 08 2009
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Right now I’m having the NelXUna ship sail quietly in the background, without a ton of forward progress beyond hints. We just don’t have enough story space for it AND for ScoutXEmily. It’s something I wanted to set up so I could properly explore it in the Second Age. (And yes, gratitude / servitude is not a healthy base to build on; that’s one of the things I’d be exploring.)
I don’t think Yavain’s going to charge for his mentoring. It’s a “bro” thing.

10 08 2009
Anonymous

I didn’t think he’d charge either. He seems to be mimicking humans too much to bother with faerie tradtions like favors.

10 08 2009
Anonymous

Hm. I enjoy a good “goofy romance” as much as the next person I suspect, but I see an issue with this developing as those above me seem to be assuming it will. Scout is no Mallory, no naive, clueless boob to be led merrily to the pit trap. I’ll freely give that he obviously had some deep emotional issues growing up, nevertheless his childhood was (relatively speaking) fairly normal from a social standpoint. He knows people lie and mislead and that sometimes people are full of themselves. I don’t see him blindly accepting everything Yavain feeds him. I think he’ll be able to dismiss several of the more extreme suggestions out-of-hand and that would make him highly suspect of the rest of it; take it with a healthy dose of salt if you will. This isn’t Lorelei convincing him to walk in on Meiko in the onsen or cooking a meal doused in oregeno with a side of oysters or even Ryo getting him into a powder blue tux…even if he has issued expressing himself, he still knows how he should not express himself as well. That’s my take anyway, maybe you see it differently and I’m fairly sure I’ll enjoy the end product regardless of the direction you take it.
Anywho, I am kinda surprised no one else has picked up on it maybe its just because I’m a Florida native. If the “I know a guy with a spaceship” is going where I think it is then it ought to at least be nearly as enjoyable as the love hijinks if not more so. I won’t say more than that as I don’t want to ruin the surprise for those not in the know anymore than I have if it is what I think it is.
Something that you might like to use in some sort of ironical or metaphorical usage, but the town motto for Palm Beach is “The very best of everything” or some such. I’m sure you can wiki it if you want to get the exact wording correct. Just a thought.
Lastly, on a different tact: I hope we hear more about this “Braid of Dawn.” ^^
(I should learn to condense myself, this is frightfully long. Shutting up now.)

10 08 2009
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

I don’t see him blindly accepting everything Yavain feeds him.
Neither do I, really. Don’t worry, I’m taking that into account.
Anywho, I am kinda surprised no one else has picked up on it maybe its just because I’m a Florida native. If the “I know a guy with a spaceship” is going where I think it is then it ought to at least be nearly as enjoyable as the love hijinks if not more so.
You’re on the money. :)

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

