a03, in which we engage people socially

4 07 2009

The first scenes of a03 are now available.

I haven’t actually dug into the plot of a03, nowhere near the dilemma posed in my last blog update. But the initial scenes were just too juicy not to dive into. Muwahaha.

Okay, gotta get to bed early. Cousin’s wedding to attend tomorrow. This entire weekend’s largely sucked up by family gatherings — which is cool, I like seeing my relatives, even if I’m not really that talkative in huge groups. Watching vacation slides is not torture when I’ve got awesome relatives like my uncle, who does awesome things like racing experimental cars in France. Wicked.

(a02 still needs finalization — I won’t let it linger in draft status much longer. I was just eager to start the new material, is all.)

Actions

Information

14 responses

4 07 2009
Anonymous

Fuzzy Feelings Overload!
Yes! More! You just made my life fifty percent better! I’m not sure if that’s sad or not…All I know is that this story makes me very happy.
Here’s some random thoughts I had:
“…I’m a professional human, I’d like to think I know a thing or two about being normal. Despite the pointy hat.”
This made me laugh. Emily has a very dry wit.
“Still, Emily had to wonder if the pain of that night was merely being masked, rather than dealt with.”
Uh oh. Stepford Smiler alert. I wonder if Una’s torture will have long term impact or if she’ll just shrug it off? I’m curious to see just how deeply she’s hurt. Not to say I want her to sink into a deep pit of despair from which she’ll never recover.
“You can even wear your hat without fear! Truly, this city has a futurist’s perspective on racial integration!”
Una is so awesome in her slightly ditzy and unintended way. She’s intelligent, of course, in a bookish way. After all, she has mad crossword puzzle skills.
“I don’t like fighting words,” he admitted aloud. “I don’t have the right weapons.”
It’s interesting how Scout still uses fighting metaphors even when talking about something like a simple crossword puzzle. It shows how…detached he is from humanity. It’s creepy.
“Una accused — poking him playfully in the nose. (…which made Scout go crosseyed, momentarily.)”
This is an amusing image. And adorable. Actually, the whole scene between Una and Scout filled me with girly giggles and fuzzy feelings. It would all be so perfect if Scout weren’t a predatory undead slave to an alien, possibly evil being. But, hey, at least he’s pretty.
Some minor typos:
“It’s high time someone made an effort at humanizing him instead of treating him like a wild animal.”
Lastly, I’m getting some definite UnaXScout vibes from this chapter. I’m really wondering what the pairing is going to turn out to be. UnaXScout? EmilyXScout? EmilyXUna? ScoutXPix? It’s a question for the ages, it is. Or, you know, you could just keep stringing me along and have everyone horribly die at the end.

4 07 2009
Anonymous

Edit
Edit:
I forgot to highlight the typo in that sentence. The word him should be bolded.

4 07 2009
Anonymous

Codex oopsie
Your Codex link for anachronauts actually points to Unreal Estate. (Oh, and when you get the chance, you may wanna remove the [draft] lags from the last chapters of Unreal Estate.

4 07 2009
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Re: Codex oopsie
I’d remove the draft tags, but technically I haven’t finalized those. They at least need a spell check. I’ve kind of had an aversion to ‘backtracking’ into my old work, though… but it WILL be done at some point.
I’ll fix the codex link later.

4 07 2009
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Re: Fuzzy Feelings Overload!
Lastly, I’m getting some definite UnaXScout vibes from this chapter. I’m really wondering what the pairing is going to turn out to be. UnaXScout? EmilyXScout? EmilyXUna? ScoutXPix? It’s a question for the ages, it is.
This is admittedly why there’s a definite UnaXScout vibe. In a02 people were simply assuming EmilyXScout; I wanted to balance the scales a bit.
As for which one gets the boy in the end, I’m undecided if I should make it clear in a03 or string it out. We’ll see where this takes me. :D
Or, you know, you could just keep stringing me along and have everyone horribly die at the end.
Hey, now. My stories have happy endings. Don’t worry about that. People sometimes call me a wuss for not killing off large swaths of my cast, but frankly, I see the end as the payoff, the reward for enduring all the nightmarish hell in the middle.
The saying is, “You can’t appreciate the tallest mountain until you visit the lowest valley.” Holds true to life.

4 07 2009
raigne

“Scout quietly got this feet, and walked away without a word.” –to his
“The Twin Cities sat on the ruins of what was once Minneapolis and St. Paul. They technically never left — in fact, much of the ruins still existed.”
The second sentence doesn’t make sense to me, since there’s nothing in the first that suggests that the ruins are no longer there, in fact quite the opposite, there’s something using the ruins as a foundation. Some people might imagine it was leveled, but I envision some buildings being a mishmash of old and new. Maybe this is just because I knew we were going to be seeing a ruined city when we got to Minneapolis, though. Maybe get a second opinion.
Thoughts:
“Are you accepting of my proposal of ‘dating’? …my dearest?”” I was cackling during this scene. The cat is apparently used to this by now, because he didn’t even flick an ear.
“”…….I’m dead,” Scout reminded her, because he had absolutely no idea what else to say.” Exactly! He’s a corpse! It’s gross! D:

4 07 2009
Anonymous

Series is really starting to hit it’s stride now. Keep up the good work!
As far as suggestions: is there any inner conflict in Scout about abandoning his nature? I think I’m getting a whiff of suppression versus channeling in Emily vs. Una’s way of dealing with Scout. It’s interesting, and I think it’d be cool to explore it more. To thine own self be true, and all that

4 07 2009
tudhalias

Re: Fuzzy Feelings Overload!
>As for which one gets the boy in the end, I’m undecided if I should make it clear in a03 or string it out. We’ll see where this takes me. :D
Until then I will stubbornly ship Una/Emily. Because.

4 07 2009
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Exactly! He’s a corpse! It’s gross! D:
I am pondering retconning this. It’s squicking too much when I’m trying to warm-and-fuzzy. He’ll still have died, but for all intents and purposes have a pulse and otherwise be quite normal seeming. Dunno. What do you guys think? Big deal, not a big deal?

4 07 2009
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

As will be revealed in a04, Scout’s “nature” was kind of forced onto him. It’s not something he asked for, so he’d be glad to get rid of it, were such a thing possible.
As for suppression vs. channeling, Una’s not exactly suppressing; again, I’ll be exploring this as we go, particularly a04. It’s almost more planned than a03 is.

5 07 2009
tudhalias

Not to jump the gun, but would *you* kiss someone whose spit was six months old?
Maybe you could say that instead of being “reanimated” (dead flesh motorized into a semblence of life by evil magics) he’s just been temporally rewound (rewinded?) from when he died. So if he first died at 12:00:00, the Winter Queen rewound his body to 11:59:59, then if he got shot in the head, rewound it again to 11:59:58, etc. His body wants to advance to his already-written death (and, by now, his already written multiple deaths and maimings), but can’t as long as the Queeen has her finger on the tape. He’s not from a sci-fi origin so you don’t have to be too literal about it, just say that it’s fate-based or something. Then he’d still have death hanging over him (several of them, in fact), but he wouldn’t have the whole “I’m rotting inside, and possibly outside” stigma.
I think part of the problem is that if we took high school biology or watched CSI, we know that decay starts only a few minutes after death, and that even if it’s magically held at bay a reanimated corpse is basically a latent worm-and-bacteria farm. Only living, metabolising, cellularly active bodies aren’t. I think part of the reason we can accept vampires is that they seem more like living predators, not preserved corpse-puppets (there have been interpretations that have emphasized their foul smelling corpse-ness, I know, but I think most of the sexy-based ones have shied away from it). Maybe you could have him eating or using the little scout’s room to show that he’s still alive, biologically speaking, but say that he’s using the life energy of the Winter Court now, or that his heart is a hollow cavity where blood is pumped by the cold hand of the Queen, or something similar.

5 07 2009
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Since the next scenes are in a hospital, and we’ll have access to a friendly doctor (who’s familiar with the Fae, since Twin Cities exists between two worlds) I think I’ll go with something like this. Biologically alive, but in some sort of magical stasis that partly resembles death.

5 07 2009
Anonymous

Re: Fuzzy Feelings Overload!
ScoutxGraves FTW. Fo yay!

5 07 2009
tudhalias

Re: Fuzzy Feelings Overload!
Pix/Pix/Pix OT3!

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

