Baby Update and OtherQuickies

7 04 2009

They just wheeled Jen in for a C-section, which means her baby is being discharged from the Womb Army under the articles of conduct, section 6, paragraph B, I think.

Also, my keyboard’s space bar is half-shot. I’ve had to hammer on it pretty hard and keep going back andfixing things(argh). Amazon won’t have a replacement untilThursday.

Utterly sick and tired of being held up as the poster child of the dev’s evils in COH and I wish they’d SAY SOMETHING in response instead of leaving us to twist in the wind. I’m trying very, very hard to at least look professional and notrespond but it’s getting sad out there.

Not much on the griefing fronttoday, I think, other than a few kickouts from the group. Maybe they’ll get boredsoon.

Eliza is pretty much the only bright point in my life thisweek, although the process to get her out and into theworld is nail-biting.

EDIT: I’m an uncle! :D Hooray! Ye ordeal is over and we’ve got our kiddie. Jen’ll have an official post withpics up when she’s, y’know, done being hospitalized. Let’s not link anybody to THIS horrible post of negativity to represent the official announcement, mmkay. c.c

Actions

Information

19 responses

7 04 2009
cmdr_zoom

Sorry, man. I’d stick up for you s’more in that thread, but I don’t think it would do any good – the ones who really need to say something have their heads down for tomorrow. :/

8 04 2009
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

It doesn’t matter. The half-wits and haters will never stop, just like the griefers. They’ll only stop if they get bored and leave. Hooray Internet.

8 04 2009
meagenimage

The idiots’ strategy is to focus on anyone opposing them who has DC arcs on Test, carefully ignore anyone opposing them who has no DC arcs on Test, and just keep on banging the “only people who benefit from the system are against our ideas” drum until their arms get numb. Don’t let it get to you, man.

8 04 2009
opmegs

Dunno if it means much, but the recent interview about the Architect function seems to imply that they’re nothing but pleased about how the Dev’s Choice function is working out, as seen here: http://www.massively.com/2009/04/06/gdc09-mission-architect-in-depth-part-2/

Most notable is what he cites as what Dev’s Choice is:

I really wanted to look for what I called the “Slumdog factor” — I wanted to find content that no one else had already found. Players are going to find the Hall of Fame content, that’s one path. And dev choice is a different path. If it’s something that really stands out, and the designer did stuff that we didn’t actually think you could pull off in the system, and they did it well, that’s what dev choice is for us.

Hopefully, that’ll come out in the official forums soon and quiet a lot of the whining. Or, knowing the self-entitled types, kick it up to new pitches because they don’t get it.

8 04 2009
joii

Personally, totally looking forward to playing your arcs.
Just one person’s opinion.

8 04 2009
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

It’s already out on the forums and it’s not helping. If anything it’s further proof of dev duplicity, since nobody’s pointing out where the Slumdog Effect is kicking in, just how guys like me and Fearghas keep getting DC’d.

8 04 2009
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

I’m gonna need all the support I can get. Without DC there’s only the HOF to help me “make room” for all the stories I’ve written and have yet to write. I know a lot of folks have already played them on Test, but I need them to re-rate them for live so I can move forward with my work. Thankyou!

8 04 2009
matrix_dragon

Yes, how dare you have better writing and developing skills then a bunch of net retards. Clearly, you’re proof that the devs are looking for actual quality, and not a dozen ‘dude, do my l33t xp farm LOL’ missions. How unfair is that? :)

8 04 2009
kamalloy

Sorry the internet jackasses have been converging upon you.
Yay new niece! Congrats to Jen and her husband, and may she bring y’all lots of joy and happiness. (And yes, I’ll post congratulations on the official post later, too.)

8 04 2009
matrix_dragon

Congrats to Jen! Glad to hear another adorable infant has gained the power to make people go ‘awww’

8 04 2009
cmdr_zoom

“Harrison Bergeron”

8 04 2009
benabik

Congratulations for Jen!

8 04 2009
lirazel

Congrats to you, Twoof! (Jen will get hers later.) Don’t worry too much — she’ll be nearly as good as new.
And one of the nice things about C-section babies is that they tend to look like little humans a lot earlier, instead of having pointy heads and scrunchy faces.

8 04 2009
omahdon

Hurray for babies! May said baby be as cute as a button. But not literally a button. Because that would be strange, yet fascinating.
As for your CoH dev issues, I don’t know if this helps any, but this is yet another situation you’ve put me into where I feel compelled to purchase said game just to revel in your latest work – just like your NWN days. Of course, back then I also had another, more selfish reason to play your games as well (“ZOMG! I R vois aktur in Elegia Eternum and Fist of Discomfort!”) but let’s just gentle brush that reason upon the carpet.

8 04 2009
jaeai

Congrats to the new Uncle, huzzah!!
*hugs* May you all be blessed by the new addition to the Gagne Army of Darkn—I mean family. ^_^v

8 04 2009
meredy

I’m a little disappointed that everyone assumes those who have a problem with the Dev Choice stuff are assholes and jerks. It’s a sad fact that Twoflower gets most of the attention(which makes sense considering how many great arcs are DC’d), but not EVERYONE is out to get HIM. Some of us just dislike the way Dev Choice is handled. With the way the community on CoX is, and the fact that the first thing you saw were those types of arcs, means that the playerbase with the attention span of a flea and the mentality of sheep tended to only go for those types of arcs. Why try anything else when these great arcs are right there at the beginning, and GIVE REAL REWARDS? HoF, chosen by the players, doesn’t do that, and that tends to upset people as well. Realistically, there’s no real way to appease everyone. But the current way they handle things seems designed to appease two people, the devs and the devs choice creators.
As for the three arc thing, I’ve spoken out against that already, it seriously screws over ANYONE interested in the MA by making them rely on HoF and Dev’s Choice for more slots while hundreds, if not thousands, of players probably won’t make a single MA arc, yet still have 3 slots. Talk about badly thought out…

8 04 2009
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Obviously not everybody who’s unhappy with the DC implementation is specifically unhappy with me. There are no absolutes in this world. But there’s a fair amount of people all up in my grill over this, and I really wish they’d stuff it.
As for Real Rewards, I’d actually rather get tickets. They’re more useful to me since I can get specific pieces of salvage that I need. No more 3 million Inf arcane rares!

8 04 2009
Anonymous

Dang, enough said.

8 04 2009
meredy

Well, I’d be happy with a mingling of the two extremes for HoF and DC stuff: Tickets and the chance for at least purple recipes to drop. As it is, I think that purple availability will become even less than it is now if people are farming tickets to buy salvage and rolls in MA. At least pool c/d recipes have a chance to drop off bosses in non-MA though.
Anyway, lemme get up in your grill too! It’s been years, after all ;)

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

