The Muse & The Waiting

17 03 2009

Fishiversary’s in the can. I have more fishy things to do, like Rod/Server 3.3b2 releases to my testers, stepping through the Team Fishing Challenge logic to see why it’s losing people, creating a more crash-proof vendor, something I’m not at liberty to talk about, something ELSE I’m not at liberty to talk about, etc. But I think I’ve earned the right to coast for a bit, there.

No, the majority brainshare lately is taken up by City of Heroes. Not actually PLAYING it, mind you; I’m kinda ‘conserving’ my fever for bashing criminals over the head with sticks for later so I don’t get sick of it before the real awesome hits in the form of the Mission Architect.

I’ve already blogged about this thing before, so I’ll summarize: It’s a great combination of simplicity, pure artform, and combat planning. A straightforward tool for creating RPG gaming, letting you focus on writing and character design, two things I love to do, leaving the technical aspects behind. No code to write, no complicated pro-dev-tool interfaces, just lay out and roll out.

The problem now is the muse. I’d forgotten how hard writing can be. Sitting down and bashing out some paragraphs is easy — provided you know what to write about, provided you have a good idea. I’m sitting on 15k of text for a complete mission I’ve already written which I’ll probably never implement because it ended up being a pile of weak ideas and forced situations. Creating is simple, creating GOOD things is hard. When I get home from work lately I sit around an hour or so with Notepad open, trying to make good creative stuff, and remembering that yep, this is as tricky as I remember.

No doubt in my mind I’ll come up with something good in the end. But waiting for the actual tools, the open beta of I14, is driving me totally batty — and puzzling through my muse to get her to sing on key is driving me more than totally batty. Aieieeeaaaaeergh.

EDIT: After some Social Media woohoo at the office I decided to look into getting my Twitter embedded on my Blog because that is the Hip Thing all the Kids are doing These Days. Unfortunately even after upgrading from my archaic S1 LiveJournal style to a shiny if narrow S2 style, it still doesn’t work. HOORAY BLOGOSOCIALFACETWITMEDIABOOKERY

Actions

Information

11 responses

17 03 2009
hit_people_guy

You can do it!
Also, I will say that some of the situations that you get into within regular mission arcs in the game are prety contrived/weak. So many times that I got the ‘You’ve been had!’ missions in CoV I wanted to throttle someone. I’d started approaching arcs with the mindset of ‘Ok, this is the guy who’s going to doublecross me in mission 4’.

17 03 2009
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

It’s difficult finding acceptable and non-annoying reasons why solving Mission #1 doesn’t save the day in and of itself. “Oh noes he gots away” is used way too much, as is “Now go do this eight more times”, as is “You were just a little too late to stop them from taking the foo” and other such goose chases.
One example of perhaps a better approach is one I’m taking now in a draft I’m writing up, where you’re trying to stop a circle of metahuman hippies who are on a week-long quest to “freak the normals” by pulling various superpowered pranks around town. That means you can bust up a few of their parties without getting to the leader, because all of them are current live problems that need your attention and you can’t skip to “the end”.

17 03 2009
jubatajuno

Twitter & LJ
Pssst: http://community.livejournal.com/twittertweeters/4460.html
Hope this helps. I know how horrid S2 templates are when dealing with interlacing it with outside apps on LJ.
Good luck with your new coding missions (◕㉨◕)

17 03 2009
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Re: Twitter & LJ
Eh. What I really want is to just stick a box with my latest tiwtterings on my LJ, not to post to LJ through twitter or vice versa or whatever other craziness that was talking about. If LJ didn’t strip out embeds, objects, scripts, and iframes, I could do it.

17 03 2009
jubatajuno

Re: Twitter & LJ
I hear you on the embeds, I totally agree. There is an other way to do it but it’s nowhere near sticking it in a box and have it done and over with. You basically make a DHTML page on your own website and plunk everything you want in there. But yes, that kind of destroys the whole ‘making LJ versatile’ purpose

17 03 2009
jengagne

A year ago, a Twitter rep claimed:
“Hint: LiveJournal and WordPress do not accept embeds; please consult the Twitter Fan Wiki for 3rd party application alternatives for these services: http://twitter.pbwiki.com/

17 03 2009
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Unfortunately I’m not seeing anything on that wiki about how to import Twitter into LJ, beyond reposting your tweets as LJ entries or other such stupidity.

17 03 2009
kowh

I’m wondering what’s the point in having it embedded? Don’t most people read via their friends page and thus would never see it?

17 03 2009
Anonymous

It has begun!!!
I don’t know if you’ve seen it yet but open beta has arrived. I suspect Test server will be lagged to death soon but still, no more waiting :)

18 03 2009
jengagne

I guess that’s why people use those “tweet into LJ entries” thingies…

18 03 2009
keikotakamura

I started using ping.fm to automatically post my status updates to my Twitter, Facebook, and Myspace. There’s a couple apps like LoudTwitter that consolidates a day’s worth of your tweets into a single LJ post and automatically ships it there.
I use the former, not the latter, because I usually try to only blog when I have more than 140 characters to say or some kinda important announcement.

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

