Retconing Your Childhood

13 01 2009

Funny and poignant cartoons about going back in time and assuring yourself that it’s not so bad. And poop.

I haven’t been bloggerating much lately because I’ve had nothing to really talk about… various projects progress, various games are played. I guess I could post about Guild Wars since I got that recently but I’m not far enough in to have anything to say other than “Wow, this is kind of confusing.” So let’s talk high school.

High School was not a living hell for me — there were bright points, notably my circle of friends (which has unfortunately drifted apart a bit since) and being alive and kicking in the golden era of PC gaming. I also wasn’t subject to bullying or ridicule, which is either odd or perfectly explainable when you take my disability into account; either it’s odd that I wasn’t picked on for being different, or explainable because it’d be like kicking a puppy. On the whole any aspect of my life that was not directly SCHOOL related, like the tertiaries, the fringe, all of that was just dandy and I have fond memories. Good times… good times.

However, school itself was lousy.

The grind of it, the work, the tedium, the pointlessness, all of that you can shove up your backside. High school was a big lump of whatever sitting in the middle of your daily existence, eating up space and time and mindshare, for very little end result. 80% of what you learn you forget, and the METHODS by which you learn it are rendered obsolete when it really hits the fan in college and you have to figure out new ways of studying and working.

The social experience was largely a joke, but that’s because I had absolutely no interest in it; I had my friends and that was great and cool and plenty for me. I didn’t need parties, mixers, popularity, laughable student council politics, or any of ye traditional structures put in place. I didn’t care about Spirit Week and I didn’t go to pep rallies — mostly because the section for disabled kids was 50 feet away in a seatless fenced in wheelchair parking Jim Crow section — but mostly because I saw no point in cheering on sports I didn’t care about for a school that was simply a means to an end for me.

So, if I could go back in time, I’d go back not with dire warnings, but with nods of the head, of “Yeah, that’s pretty much how it’s gonna be, and it’ll be over soon.” Self fulfilling prophecy? Perhaps, but some reassurance that You’re Right, This Too Shall Pass would’ve been welcome.

Now, if I could go back to COLLEGE, I’d arrive Sophmore year, smack myself over the head, and say “What the hell are you doing in a CS major? You’re not Mr. Hardkore Code Wrangler and you never wanted to be. Look, there’s a mixed media major you can get in on right now and save yourself two years of withdrawals and failure.” Because AFTER that point, after I swapped majors, college became a dreamy wonderland of opportunity and creativity. Shuffling that point up a few semesters to avoid the stress and breakdown would’ve been just peachy.

Actions

Information

18 responses

13 01 2009
raigne

I had the benefit of attending a very cool alternative high school, and for the most part enjoyed that time. I had just come out of Catholic school, so it was already like a breath of fresh air. Every year was completely different from the next. The only thing I would have changed was actually doing my school work more often. I think I’d be too lazy to go back and smack myself over the head though. Because I still haven’t learned :x Although. I do wish I had taken my choir teacher’s advice sophomore year and auditioned for theater camp…
And. I would invite you to my guild on Guild Wars, but it’s pretty much dead. If you decide you like it and want to continue playing it, I can help you out. My IGN is Aleura Iridae. When I’m on now I’m usually idling somewhere or pvping, but that’s mostly because I’ve been playing for three years and there’s not much else left for me to do that isn’t grind.

13 01 2009
raigne

Er. Don’t get me wrong, the game has quite a bit to offer that isn’t grind… I’ve just done it all already :x

13 01 2009
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

I’m already in a guild; the DFBers have a presence there, with Pyro, Meagen, Wonderslug, SPTrashcan, and I think Shadur present and accounted for. No reason I can’t team with you, though.
So far I’m level 6? 7? in Nightfall. Ranger/Monk for basic shooty time fun and the occasional buff. I think the bewilderment comes from the massive array of stuff you’ve gotta figure out… when to use certain stances and bonuses, managing energy, directing your pets/heroes/henches, what items are worth keeping and what aren’t, what SKILLS are worth using and what aren’t, how the hell crafting works and whether you should be paying more attention to it, what various weird acronyms and codes players hurl around with ease mean, etc. And that’s to say nothing of the interface which is totally unlike City of Heroes. The actual tutorials and such make sense but the game itself is full of befuddling complexity.
Lest this post’s comment threads turn into Guild Wars All The Time, i WILL be expounding on this more in another LJ post, once I have more time in game under my belt.

13 01 2009
raigne

Nightfall added quite a bit more complexity to the game, so I’m not surprised that you’re confused. The last two games were kind of one giant info dump at the beginning. And, is your guild active? Cause, like I said, mine’s a little dead :P
And, I will stop talking about it now. :x

13 01 2009
keikotakamura

Hi, Seven. You’re awesome.

13 01 2009
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Hi, Keiko. So are you.

13 01 2009
pyromaniac_ks

Read The Wind or whatever you’re using for your Preparation is up all the time, Whirling Defense and then Troll Ungent when things are trying to kill you and you are losing HP. Nothing’s really worth hanging onto until you’re at least into level 18/19. Crafting is something you have to worry about maybe two times, at Jokanur Diggings for mid-tier armour, and at Consulate Docks for your max Armour, otherwise is entirely optional.

13 01 2009
kowh

Pretty much every report card I ever got could be boiled down to “smart but lazy” (things like “could do better if he applied himself more”). And look where it got me… A career in “smart but lazy”, AKA computing. One ideal in computing being to solve things once, so you never have to solve them again.
I think if you averaged every final mark I ever got, it’d be A- or B+. For every class like geography where I was a solid B student, there’d be a math, science or computer course I got A+ in. You can tell my marks were more of a indication of my interest in the class than anything else. Note that I make a distinction between class and subject. I’m interested in almost any subject, I’m not interested in the way most classes are taught.

13 01 2009
Anonymous

Juni
I was the exact opposite. I always had extremely high marks and a relatively easy time even in English and Social Studies courses but really and genuinely struggled in math and science. The reason being that I just had no interest in either of those subjects. Of course, my friends who weren’t as good as me in English/socieal studies but better students overall were the ones who recieved all of the honors…ahhh, high school.

13 01 2009
raigne

You were apparently a far less lazy smart person than I was. I did the bare minimum to not get an F in everything but math (Straight A’s except for one quarter senior year) until I got to college.
I think I only completed like, one research paper, because they wouldn’t let me out of ninth grade if I didn’t do it. I always did the research and the oral presentation, mind you, I just couldn’t be bothered to write the paper. :x

13 01 2009
kowh

Re: Juni
Heh. I wrote the papers, I just did them the night before and BSed my way through them. Apparently teachers preferred my BS to that of the other students.

15 01 2009
raigne

Re: Juni
Difficult to BS ten pages the night before, even if I cared to do so. I didn’t want to b the only person in the class who didn’t do the presentation, so I always had the research done. I liked learning, just hated having to report it all back to someone.
It must have been maddening for my teachers to know that they couldn’t give me any credit for the work I did because I didn’t write it down. Then again, I was always irritated with the system anyway, especially since every single one of my teachers knew I was an excellent writer and that I not only paid attention in class, I retained everything I learned, and rarely got less than 95% on midterms and finals. If I can demonstrate that I know it in class, why did I still have to do all that busy work outside of school?

15 01 2009
kowh

Re: Juni
Heh. Ten pages I’d do the weekend before or somesuch. I think I was lucky in that I didn’t generally have to do long reports very often. Usually more like 4-6 pages.
If it was a few page take a position and support it type paper, I could bang those out quickly. Just throw a five paragraph at it. One to introduce the subject, your paper and your points; the second best point; the worst point; the best point and a conclusion that restates your points and ties them together. Sooooo many papers written that way.

15 01 2009
raigne

Re: Juni
We had one 10 page paper a quarter. That was for the primary class. It was like our major for the year and lasted for 2.5 hours. It counted for one credit of English, one credit of Social Studies or Science, and .75 credits of Phys. Ed., which was all the school district required. Then you might have papers for other classes, depending on what you were taking that year, and how masochistic your teacher was.

15 01 2009
kowh

Re: Juni
I assume this primary class included physical activities, or did these 10 page reports count as gym? ;)

15 01 2009
Anonymous

Re: Juni
Physical activities were officially included. Unofficially… we had no gymnasium, once a week homerooms were bussed to the community rec center, and it was assumed physical activities ensued. If you were walking around and talking to your friends, it counted. Most people played basketball or volleyball if we split the gym, and dodgeball or kickball if everyone agreed to play the same thing. If it was nice out, baseball in the field outside for people who wanted to. Frisbee and double dutch for people who didn’t.
Also, some classes didn’t go to the rec center and instead did yoga for 15 minutes every morning. You could also do an independent gym, and if you took karate, or kick boxing, or swimming, etc. you could use that as your phys ed. A bunch of kids my senior year even got DDR approved as an acceptable form of physical activity. You just had to have an adult time you and sign off on some paperwork each week.

15 01 2009
raigne

Re: Juni
Yes, that was me.

26 01 2009
kansas_crawford

You’re Right, This Too Shall Pass
You know, it’s funny you should say that. I was talking to this kid on WoW the other night. I’m about 31, and he’s in his last year of high school. Conversation turned to the hardships encountered during the high school years. I told him pretty much what you said here. It’s like that all around, in time it either changes or stops bothering you, sorta thing. He kept thanking me and saying I had really helped him a lot.
You could be onto something with your whole Reassurance Theory. Pretty sure twenty minutes of external insight woulda done me a world of good back then.

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

