We’re Number One!! We’re Number… We’re Number Two! We’re Number Two!

21 10 2008

For 34 seconds, I was the greatest fake Kurt Cobain that ever lived.

Harmonix released the “Nirvana 7-Pack” today, a cleverly renamed “All The Songs From Nevermind We Could Get Rights To From That Harpie Courtney Love”. And lo and behold, there was a three-song Battle of the Bands up for it. Normally I don’t bother with BOTB because there’s no chance in hell of me even cracking the top 20 unless it’s something super obscure… but I figured, what the hell. This is Nirvana and I’ve been waiting years to sing like Kurt in a video game.

So, after a few restarts (had to figure out the best overdrive path for Breed manually), I get three gold star full combos, and the magical message: “Your band has the highest score in this competition!”. I looked around for my digital camera, couldn’t find it, did a touchdown dance anyway, then hit A.

When I checked the leaderboards I’d been bumped down one slot by someone who just finished their own run 34 seconds ago.

I don’t care if I’m #2. Doesn’t matter. (Nevermind?) See, for one brief moment, I was a fake rock god in the shoes of one of my idols. It was awesome. I ruled. It ruled. This is the experience I’ve been waiting for ever since the first Rock Band was announced and an HMX dev accidentally said “We have access to the Nevermind masters”, kicking off months of speculation about these tracks. It’s the opportunity to take these songs I know by heart, take these songs very dear to me that helped me get through surgeries and high school and define myself as a person, and experience them anew.

I still miss Kurt. He was an okay guy who had a lot of problems that eventually got the best of him. Today he was celebrated, and long after today he’ll never be forgotten.

Actions

Information

20 responses

22 10 2008
cmdr_zoom

Congrats!

22 10 2008
hit_people_guy

I posted this congrats 34 seconds before him, I don’t know why he’s above me!!!

22 10 2008
keikotakamura

YATTA!
You did it!!

22 10 2008
keikotakamura

Re: YATTA!
…And I will thank yew very kindly not to hate on Courtney Love, kthx.

22 10 2008
shachihoko

Congratulations are in order, at least for that one shining moment of glory. Or is it a crowning moment of awesome? Either way, well done!

22 10 2008
meredy

Re: YATTA!
Yeah! Hating on Courtney and her Hole is waaaaaay too easy, so don’t do it!
Grats on being Valhallen, though!

22 10 2008
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Only one way to settle this.
No Icons
No OpenID
Just Anonymous
FINAL DESTINATION

22 10 2008
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Re: YATTA!
I don’t hate her THAT much. But the Nirvana rights situation makes me go c.c; . I don’t mind her music and actually really like her cover of Gold Dust Woman.

22 10 2008
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Can it not be both?

22 10 2008
jengagne

It’s a crownshiny moment of glorawesome! :D

22 10 2008
vulpisfoxfire

Er, wait…Nirvana *vocals*? Did they use an entirely different mix for the game, or is that beaten by sticking the mike next to a cat with bowel problems? (There’s a reason why Weird Al’s parody is like it is…)

22 10 2008
raigne

I would rather yowl in the microphone to some of those songs over and over than have to do the last minute and a half of black hole sun over and over.

22 10 2008
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Agreed. I deleted Black Hole Sun off my system, even. I like the song but it’s torture to sing.
As for Nirvana vocals, they’re pretty forgiving since Kurt’s growly, but I do know the tones by heart from singing it to myself for, oh, SEVENTEEN YEARS. And yes, you can actually sing these songs, kthx.

22 10 2008
cmdr_zoom

I’d be half-tempted to sing the “Smells Like Nirvana” lyrics instead and see if that’s Close Enough.

22 10 2008
raigne

It probably would be. It cares more about the pitch and tone of your voice than what you’re actually saying.
Which is how a friend’s son got 5 stars and 98% on Timmy and the Lords of the Underworld…

22 10 2008
keikotakamura

Jen… -.-;;;;

22 10 2008
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

On Expert? Timmy’s got a lot of talkies, and in RB1 at least, it IS making an effort to see that you’re saying the right words…
But for songs without talkies (or most RB2 songs with talkies) you can sing anything. I like doing the lyrics for Gump instead of Lump, for instance.

22 10 2008
jengagne

Re: YATTA!
Oh god, Greenl. I had almost forgotten. O_O

23 10 2008
raigne

No, on Hard.
And he probably made an effort to pronounce some of it, but he mumbled it into the mic.
And yeah, we have to hum the french one. Although. I know the french part of call me, so I can sing that one. I love that Blondie. :x

26 10 2008
Anonymous

not to be excessively snarky, but
“and long after today he’ll never be forgotten.”
Never is always a long time.

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

