Avast! More Sea Shanties

19 09 2008

Ahoy! It be International Talk Like a Pirate Day! But I be drivin’ me nuts if I be attemptin’ the piratey-talk fer this entire captain’s log entry, so I be stoppin’ now, pardon.

The router was very well behaved while the other housefolk were out of town. I played for hours without a single XBL dropout. I took LJer advice and set my DHCP range higher than the 360’s static IP, and since they came home, again, no problems. Hopefully this is the end of the situation and I won’t have any further issues, because I don’t trust firmware upgrades and buying a new router makes me feel like a sap. Bleh.

More RB2, because every time I mention it my LJ comments drop to zero and I apparently love apathy.

RB2’s goin’ smooth. I nailed the “final” challenge last night for vocalists — followed all 8 challenges, and did the last one on Expert difficulty and passed, earning me the “Virtuoso” achievement, the “Buy a Real Instrument Already” achievement, and a women’s top that’s basically just a strategically draped boa constrictor. I put it on a voodoo mamba styled character, looks great.

I also went through some of the Band World Tour, and thankfully they tuned it so I can do pretty much exclusively Mystery Setlists and Choose-Your-Own Setlists. Since finding players with DLC is so rare… and hell, finding folks who did the RB1 song export is so rare, I’m soloing this stuff rather than doing it online. I’ll online for other people’s tours, but probably not my own. Once through BWT is enough, given how tedious it got in RB1.

Next week the photo creator supposedly is going online. I’ll be sure to bore you all to tears with pictures of my wacky fictional bands.

This weekend: Some COHing (although I ITCH for Issue #13’s story editor) and some D&Ding, followed by RB in the evenings. Next weekend I think it’ll be safe to start launching the 3.0 7Seas Fishing Area Kits. (They’re really not that different from the current ones, since I already did all the contest board tweaks, but they do lock out 2.0 rods so I wanted to wait awhile.)

Actions

Information

18 responses

20 09 2008
tozetre

Good to hear your network’s doing well.
btw, which CoH server do you play on? I’m thinking of getting back into it and I had some terrible ideas.

20 09 2008
hit_people_guy

Congrats on the RB2 achieves. :)

20 09 2008
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

The DFBers are all on Virtue. It’s the unofficial roleplaying server. Since they introduced extra character slots per year of subscription, for purchase, and some bonus ones just for the heck of it, it’s pretty easy to consolidate your alts on one server nowadays.

20 09 2008
loopychew

Dammit, now I’m going to have to wait another X months before I can play with you again. :-P

20 09 2008
riskygamble

Yaaaay, Rock Band 2! I’m staying with HPG till Monday and we are rocking it like a hurricane :D

20 09 2008
meagenimage

And yet I still manage to roll various lowbies on different servers… I have two on Victory now, one on Guardian, one on Liberty…

20 09 2008
pyromaniac_ks

No Dee’nDee this weekend, man. Tom’s away. We’re set for next week though.

20 09 2008
kamalloy

Once the photo editor is online I’ll also be posting pictures of my wacky fictional bands, and I’m looking forward to seeing yours.
Also, I finally remembered to send the friend request last night. Yay for way overdueness? Debating when I should reactivate my Gold account; since I’m only at Greg’s one or two nights per week, I’m still leaning towards holding off for a bit, though knowing a fair amount of people who do play online is making it tempting.
Edit: I’m wondering if they beefed up the song-picking AI. Last night we had a random set that started with two Weezer songs (“Say It Ain’t So” and “Buddy Holly”). Maybe it does thematic Mystery Setlists now?

20 09 2008
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

The songpicker is largely the same. The difference now is that it only picks songs of an appropriate challenge level for the venue you’re playing at. If you’re still at Jimmy Astros in Seattle (well, *I* always start in Seattle) then you’ll get Say It Ain’t So. By the time you get to Shanghai you’ll probably be dealing with Painkiller, Green Grass & High Tides, and The Perfect Drug.

20 09 2008
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Whyfor? Ran out of gold subscription?

20 09 2008
kowh

Glad to see your network problems seem to have been solved.
Might want to check the change notes for the firmware anyways, just to see if there are any fixes/features that would make it worth risking a firmware update. Low risk of bricking for a official update, but of course low is still more than none at all from not updating.

20 09 2008
kamalloy

Ah okay. That’s good and makes sense; it means there will no longer be instances of “Highway Star” being the first of the two songs you play to earn the van. This was on the second band we were playing after we’d unlocked all the songs, but it’s not something we expected to have thrown at us that soon. My Easy drummer ended up bailing out his Hard guitarist a couple of times.

20 09 2008
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

My favorite was starting out and getting Green Grass & High Tides followed by Ride the Lightning. aagh.
Even so, I’m deleting a few songs I hate singing from my RB1 exports, so they won’t show up in random setlists. I wish we could mark off others. Visions would be straight out, if so.

20 09 2008
loopychew

I figure you’ll be spending all your time on RB2. And me, in less-fortunate-(but-more-fortunate-than-Australia-)Euroland, don’t have that option available to me.
But if you feel like popping RB1 into your tray from time to time to get those ungotten achievement points and such…

21 09 2008
tozetre

For you, in tearful indignation;
http://tozetre.livejournal.com/667810.html

21 09 2008
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

I just cleared BWT mode, so yeah, I’d be game for swapping down a bit to sing for you. :) Although there’s no online play achievements in RB1, boo.

22 09 2008
Anonymous

Wait… 2f’s finally in an RPG group and hasn’t said anything about it?
Or I missed it because I’m an inattentive doofus?
Either way, I’d like to know how that’s going.
-NeoVid

24 09 2008
pyromaniac_ks

Stuff is largely here
Which reminds me, paging Twoof to respond to the IC lounge.

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

