7Seas 3.0 rods launched!

6 09 2008

Yaaaaay!

I can’t tell you guys what a relief this is. It’s like my mildly OCD brain went into a shutdown loop for weeks, unable to focus properly, because I KNEW this thing was hovering in the background… bugs I couldn’t fix yet, code I couldn’t write yet, development I couldn’t do because SL hadn’t upgraded to Mono yet. Frustrating. Maddening.

Having that behind me? That’s a joy to behold. And so far, the upgrade process has been smooth; 150 fishers registered in one night, only 10 had any problems, only 3 of which were severe. Hurrah!

…of course, now I have a hurricane bearing down on my ass, I’m home alone, and there’s a good chance of power and internets going out for multi-hour stretches, possibly even multi-day if it’s bad enough. All my portable entertainments are charged and I have books, but damn. This weekend could get ugly, even if 7Seas is rolling smooth. We’ll see…

Actions

Information

4 responses

6 09 2008
aj_hyena

Might want to hold off on the launching just a little bit longer. Asset servers and networks bit the big one about 20 minutes ago.

6 09 2008
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Yeah, I know. But we launched a good 2 hours before that point, so no sense in yanking it now. We’re coping okay, all things considered.

6 09 2008
aj_hyena

I have a mock up of something I was considering making for sale, as a game. But I need a master scripter to do it (a friend of mine said it’s possible, but messy at the start). Would you like to look at what I have so far some time?

6 09 2008
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

I can “take a look” but I can’t script for hire. As you know from my blog, I’m always mired in projects. I have my own arcade games that have been long neglected, for instance.

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

