Planning to Plan: Otakon 2008

4 08 2008

Yow.

Okay, the schedule went up on otakon.com this weekend. Aside from being a usability nightmare, a pile of ass and poo, it imparted two very important facts about OT2K8 (as opposed to OTS2K).

1. There are a LOT of video game related panels.
2. All the awesome happens on Friday, and Saturday is made of dull and meh.

This poses a problem. I typically sneak in the dealer’s room on Friday at noon, opening minute, with the other Crips. That’s the best way to get the rare items before someone else snaps ’em up. But in order to do that I’d have to miss the Visual Novel software class AGAIN, for the second year running, because that workshop is always overbooked and you gotta line up ahead of time. On top of that there’s a lot of good anime I’d be interested in sampling which I can’t due to being coincided with various panels and with the freakin’ AMV contest.

End result; a lot of things getting dropped in favor of other things. Can’t go to the dealer’s room on time, notably, and only have an hour or two to scope it out Friday at all. I don’t have much flex time until Saturday, in general. And each day has good stuff in the late evening hours, meaning little sleep.

It’s gonna be a bit of a crazy con, that much is clear. Oddly, though, this has energized me a bit; I wasn’t expecting much out of Otakon, given I’m only tangentially involved in anime fandom anymore… I am not hip to the fresh cool jive the kids these days are watching. But the con’s got a lot more going on than What’s Hot Right Now, and that is awesome and I am looking forward to it anew.

See you at the con. I’ll be hanging in the gaming room around the Rock Band station quite a bit on Saturday, methinks. If you spot me (probably the only guy on a three-wheeled electric scooter) feel free to say hi / wave / etc, but I MAY be high speed en route to something on Friday, so pardon if I can’t hang around to discuss Sailor Nothing at length. Schedules are pitiless and wait for no one.

Edit: I’d rather not publish my full schedule, because, I dunno, on principle I should not be encouraging stalkers. But here’s some of the events I’m planning to go to, and I encourage others to do the same because they look awesome.

Friday: Rhythm Games You Haven’t Played (I likes me a good button tapper), Making of Visual Novels (if it’s full I will murder anybody in line ahead of me for this, consider that your fair warning), Your Video Game Character Sucks (sounds like it’s gonna be a fun full-room flamewar), 10 Games You Should Play (sense a theme yet?)

Saturday: Video Game Design (no details, just.. it’s about design, so hey), Japanese Pro Wrestling (SPINEBUSTAAAAH) and the Phoenix Wright Mock Trial. Oh, and if I can stay awake, Freedom Project 1-6, because I love the concept even if they used it to pitch incredibly overpriced and doomed HD-DVDs at me last year.

Sunday: Slayers Revolution, because I haven’t seen it yet. c.c

Edit: Amazon is like Wikipedia crawling, only more expensive. I now have some new DVDs for my archives… Summer School, One Crazy Summer, Real Genius, Better Off Dead, Adventures in Babysitting, and The Goonies. Fear my 80s.

Actions

Information

16 responses

4 08 2008
seangaffney

I’ll be wearing a hat. :)

4 08 2008
kowh

It seems to be an unwritten law of cons to put all the interesting stuff on at the same time. And a corollary that all the boring stuff is put on at the same time as well, but a different time from the interesting stuff.

4 08 2008
chiave_trust

I, sadly, will not be at Otakon this year (a fact that I do regret, as odd as that is, simply because I can see people at Otakon), as I am currently in another country.

4 08 2008
pockyman

I hope I can see you and the gang this weekend… but I’ll probably be too busy. -.-

4 08 2008
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

I’ve long suspected that the hat was actually a discolored outgrowth of your flesh and hair surrounding a ring of bone that grows directly out of your skull.

4 08 2008
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

’tis the eternal struggle. Still, next time you’re in town, drop word to us. We’d love to arrange stuph and get you alone where we can have some fun withut any witnesses or anyone to hear you scream. –I mean, we’d love to take you out to dinner and eat you. –I mean we’d love to … see you. Okay.

4 08 2008
jengagne

… You seriously need to start talking to your sister and her husband before running off to buy music and media, dude. Particularly 80s stuff. Some of those look REALLY familiar.

4 08 2008
cmdr_zoom

“I’m really sorry your mom blew up, Ricky.”

4 08 2008
jengagne

Well, it IS technically made of skin…
(assuming it’s still leather as I recall)
(“it rubs the lotion on its hat…”)

4 08 2008
jengagne

I believe the ambiguously threatening phrase you were looking for is, “We’d love to have you for dinner.”

4 08 2008
sscougall

Another lovely ambiguous phrase is, “You’ve really been a most excellent host.”

4 08 2008
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Yeah, I kinda went nuts. They were selling dirt cheap, like 9 or 12 bucks a disc, so I piled a few on and didn’t think I needed to check with you first.

5 08 2008
raigne

I hear you on the Amazon front. It’s to the point where I have about 6 or 7 wishlists organized by topic going. Possibly more. I haven’t counted in awhile.

5 08 2008
keikotakamura

Man, I wish I could go to Otakon but I’ll be too busy preparing for PAX.
/me runs from your eye daggers!

5 08 2008
jengagne

Who needs eye daggers? *brandishes icon*
We’ll go someday! I hear they’re coming to the East Coast, but if it ends up in NY… I think Seattle would have been easier. >_<;

6 08 2008
raigne

In 2010. I have wanted to be a PAX Enforcer for awhile now, but a trip to the west coast is a little undoable.

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

