Hudda Hudda Huh

23 06 2008

I need to post more often. Problem is, when I try to organize my thoughts into a blog post, it’s rarely some epic and majestic dissertation on a subject of great weight and wisdom, it’s me yammering about various games. This post is (mostly) no exception.

It was Pyro Weekend in TF2, and as a career pyro, I was lovin’ it. Pyro was a tricky class, because everything it can do, someone else in TF2 could do better. In CQC, the soldier’s rawkets were king, and he had more mobility due to rocket jumps. For ambushing, a spy is the way to go, and he had cloaks and disguises to get you into position. And… that’s really all the pyro could do. Fail to get to where they need to be since they have to cross open terrain and take standard routes, then fail to kill anyone because they’re basically a pure melee class.

So, Valve changed things. Now Pyro has two different, distinct play styles (and variations thereon). A ranged pyro gets a flaregun to ignite people from afar, as well as a burst-shield to reflect rockets back at people. An ambusher pyro gets additional health to survive those close calls (and soldiers now take more damage from their own high explosive artillery being treated as a melee weapon) and a flamethrower that crits when you ‘backburn’ people. SCORE.

Of course, now there’s the inevitable catcalls of “pyro is overpowered” and “nerf pyro”. But this is an online game. Everybody is simultaneously underpowered and overpowered and needs to be buffed and nerfed and blood and fire will sound the trumpets of Nerd Forum War to the nonbeliever who dares to disagree, etc, etc. Par for course, baby. Par for course.

Meanwhile, I busted my ass working on 7Seas 3.0 fishing rods, only to… decide to postpone them. Mono’s coming soon to SL, sooner than I thought, and since I’m bumping into the memory limits of stock SL scripting I feel we need to wait. We’re in no rush; unless someone haxx0rz the game, there’s no reason to shove forward on production before it’s as awesome as it possibly can be. Meanwhile Jen and Meissa are cranking out fish and keeping the huddled masses happy, and that’ll carry us through.

Someone at scans_daily posted some really old comic adaptations of Ray Bradbury’s The Martian Chronicles, which reminded me of how much I adored that book in high school. I hit Amazon and picked up that and F451 for a little re-reading, and glad I did, since this edition (while missing the anti-racism story about southern blacks going to mars) had a really interesting story on science and religion added to the compilation I hadn’t read before. Great stuff.

The only down note is the same one from my last read through… why does 99.9% of Mars’s population immediately and unanimously decide to run back to Earth when nuclear war breaks out? Wouldn’t a good portion, if not most of them, opt to stay put rather than voluntarily go off to die an inevitable horrible radioactive death? Never made sense to me.

Finally, saw the Incredible Hulk. It was quite pedestrian; amazing actors (and Liv Tyler) pouring their heart into very, very thin parts and a very servicable but nothing more story. And yet, I was quite entertained… I guess a little of the Hulk Formula goes a long way, despite how straightforward it all is. Also, I’m LOVING how Marvel’s starting to tie their movies together, to build one continuity out of them. This is something DC is specifically trying not to do, and it’s a shame. Having Patrick Bateman meet Superman would’ve been a real kick. Amirite?

Actions

Information

10 responses

23 06 2008
lirazel

I have avoided every single one of the comic-based movies, all the way back to the original Superman, so I’m not really qualified to comment much… and I also avoided the Hulk TV show… but it always seemed to me that of all the comics to make a movie of, the Hulk was probably the worst. There’s no plot there.

23 06 2008
cmdr_zoom

And I say again as I did on S_D, it was a different time. Most people still thought of “atomic war” (not “nuclear” yet) as an extension of conventional war, something that was survivable. The very idea was only a few years old.
The chapter “2005: The Watchers” describes the reaction of those on Mars, watching the first detonation (a “premature explosion of atomic stockpile” which devastates Australia), and in tone it’s more like how many reacted to 9/11 or Pearl Harbor or some natural disaster, worrying about absent friends and family and hoping they’re all right. The message from Earth goes on to say:
LOS ANGELES, LONDON BOMBED. WAR. COME HOME. COME HOME. COME HOME.
And so they do.

23 06 2008
jengagne

C’mon man, do you really feel obliged to have your blog posts be an “epic and majestic dissertation on a subject of great weight and wisdom”? This is a blog. You open every entry with an excuse lately. :D
So, just write about _whatever_ you want, and don’t bother explaining why! Srsly. :) You still have plenty of entertaining turns of phrase even if we aren’t hip to your subject matter. (Nerd Forum War, hee)
We’ll keep throwing fish to the crowd so yeah, 7Seas upgrade might as well wait till it can be done RIGHT.

23 06 2008
jengagne

little green spaceships
I don’t know the original story so I’m just ponderin’ here…
Yeah, sounds like it was written during an era without assumptions of massive fallout or radiation poisoning or so many bombs per square mile, enough to carpet the planet.
In the story, do they just lose LA and London and Oz?
Also, I ponder, does the Mars colony rely on shipments from Earth? If so, Earth may be needing to keep the resources they’d be shipping out, not to mention keep the fuel and parts they’d expend to send to Mars.
So in that case, if there’s a reasonable risk of being cut off, then it’s even MORE likely that they’d bolt back to Earth ASAP.

23 06 2008
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Re: little green spaceships
For all these reasons… I can see SOME PEOPLE going back.
But the way it was explained in the story was this:
1. One night, Earth sends a message saying “War started, come home.”
2. People ponder “You know, I have relatives on Earth.”
3. Within MINUTES all the luggage stores are emptied and everybody’s jumped on a rocket and bailed offworld, leaving things like faucets running and cash registers open and doors swinging in the breeze.
We’re not just talking a large portion of the population, or even a vast majority. All of it, every man, woman and child picked up and left without even locking the door behind them.
In a war situation do you really wanna drag the wife and kids with you into the middle of the death zone? Maybe YOU want to go back and fight out of patriotism, or to check up on relatives (why not bring them to Mars instead of going to earth?) but having the sum population bail within the hour is completely implausible.
I know it was a different time, but when Pearl Harbor got bombed, the entire population of the United States of America didn’t immediately hop the next ship to Hawaii.

23 06 2008
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

We’ll keep throwing fish to the crowd
I hear it worked pretty well for this groovy cat with a beard back in Israel. Well, in the long run, anyway. In the short run it kinda sucked for him.
And yeah, I gotta stop disclaiming. I just worry I’m falling into an early postmodern middle aged rut. In the eighties it was coming home, eating a TV dinner, watching TV, falling asleep. In the aughties it’s coming home, eating dinner in front of the Tivo, getting on the internet, falling asleep.

23 06 2008
cmdr_zoom

Re: little green spaceships
Plausible psychology or not, Bradbury does explain his reasoning. From another “2005” story, “The Luggage Stores”:
“Do you think everyone now on Mars will go back to Earth if this is the Big War we’ve all been expecting for years?”
“It’s a funny thing, Father, but yes, I think we’ll all go back. I know, we came up here to get away from things–politics, the atom bomb, war, pressure groups, prejudice, laws–I know. But it’s still home there. You wait and see. When the first bomb drops on America the people up here’ll start thinking. They haven’t been here long enough. A couple years is all. If they’d been here forty years, it’d be different, but they’ve still got relatives down there, and their home towns. Me, I can’t believe in Earth anymore; I can’t imagine it much. But I’m old. I don’t count. I might stay on here.”
“I doubt it.”
“Yes, I guess you’re right.
Again, the assumption is that there’s more for ordinary people to do in an atomic war than just sit in their shelters and die. Enlist, go to work in the munitions factories… Remember that proverb about preparing to fight the last war?

23 06 2008
cmdr_zoom

I like my rut. It’s got a net connection and everything.

9 10 2008
darrenboatrigh

I like who I am, I like my work-at-home career and I LOVE my life. There aren’t a lot of people who can honestly say that—but you could be one of them, if you’ll take a few easy steps.

9 10 2008
berniemoulins

The spouses left behind can’t keep up the stress level and all you all keep saying, you just called my husband and all the troops a liar saying it is mostly the insurgents attacking us.

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

