ZOT.

16 06 2008

Thunderstorms over the burbs, smaller scale ones than the DoomStorm of last week… Things nice and quiet, just rain… Then KABOOM! And one flash of light later, the internet and cable are toast.

Hopefully comcast will be more responsive to the whole burb going offline than they have been to our house’s signal strength probs. Age of broadband my ass.

Edit: Net’s back, but we’re gonna have to boil water and wash with waterless lotion for three damn days because of a water main break. Civilization is pretty easy to topple lately, isn’t it? Next thing you know an unspecified airborne threat from “plants” in general despite them having wildly different biology will randomly start making people kill themselves until it stops for no good reason.

Actions

Information

10 responses

17 06 2008
lirazel

Age of broadband my ass.
In my case, I carry my “broadband” with me at all times. It’s doing the BOOM thing here, too.

17 06 2008
raigne

We had some power outages here too. And some hail.
Next thing you know an unspecified airborne threat from “plants” in general despite them having wildly different biology will randomly start making people kill themselves until it stops for no good reason.
So you’re bitter about Shyamalan’s latest offering as well? I haven’t seen the movie, but two of my friends were discussing it and one said that it’s a movie you should only consider watching when it comes out on ABC in two years and then only if there’s nothing else on. He wasn’t impressed, apparently.

17 06 2008
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

I didn’t see it, either, but the synopsis I read made it sound pretty damn boring and pointless. So I’m opting to save my money as well.

17 06 2008
jengagne

http://themoviespoiler.com/Spoilers/thehappening.html
*DOUBLESLICE*
“ARE YOU NOT ENTERTAINED?!”

17 06 2008
jengagne

*scoff* Quote from Shyamalan: “This is the best B movie you will ever see”
Even if it were actually a GOOD movie, that kind of claim would annoy me. Best B-movie EVER? C’mon, man. This isn’t even the Golden Age of B, which was chock full of schlock classics.
Does this even classify as B? Clearly there’s not a lot of artistic intent here, which I _guess_ could qualify it… but considering the budget, it isn’t a cheap film.
(You’d think a bunch of people running away from gusts of wind and randomly committing suicide would cost less than $57 million…)
He’s starting to sound like James Cameron did during his “I’m the king of the world!” era.

17 06 2008
jengagne

That’s an odd pet name for yer butt.
… teehee

17 06 2008
raigne

The question is, did it turn a profit? If it did, I’d say he’s entitled to his opinion :x

17 06 2008
jengagne

Oh, everybody’s entitled to an opinion. I’m basically conclusing that those opinions happen to elicit disbelieving snorts of laughter from me. ;)

17 06 2008
cmdr_zoom

“uh… yeah, it’s a B movie! I meant to do that!”
the Great Director, ladies and gentlemen.

18 06 2008
raigne

Well, since he’s obviously not good at drama anymore, at least he’s got a promising career in comedy.

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

