Games! Other Than Fishing

30 04 2008

Finally, some new content to post about! Yesterday was a pretty big gaming day for me. Here’s my first impressions of various things. (not ‘reviews’ since, well, 1-2 hours of hands on experience is not a review.)

Zero for Rock Band – Being a 90s wunderkid and old time Smashing Pumpkins fan, seeing Zero on the hacked playlist of upcoming Rock Band tracks was a joy to behold. Playing the song itself, not QUITE as joyful, but nonetheless fun. Problem is that while I know every tone and inflection of that song inside and out, I can’t seem to make my voice do what the game wants me to do to reproduce the lyrics. I don’t fail out, of course, but I was hoping to have maybe 1-2 combo breakers, not 4-5. I may need to practice this one more.

Double Dragon – It’s on Wii’s Virtual Console, and I have fond memories of this as a kid. Problem is, I’ve become somewhat of a brawler connoisseur since then, and it’s clear this game is a pretty crappy brawler. The “levelling up” mechanism’s not bad, but punches are nearly useless since the other guys get just as many licks in on you as you get on them — there’s no defense mechanism and the chances of them hitting you midcombo seem to be random. When you finally get an over the shoulder throw, a key crowd control technique in a brawler game, you can’t actually throw people AT other people. Weapons are vastly overpowered, to the point where the obligatory punker girl enemy type is a joke… knock down the first one, take the whip they always come with, and just keep hitting A. Etc, etc. (I should write an entry about brawlers at some point.) Still, it’s got some value as a nostalgia title, and the music still rocks.

Mario Kart Wii – It’s Mario Kart! … and that’s it. Kinda bare-bones, no frills. Which is fine, since I never owned it on my SNES, and I never owned an N64/Gamecube, so this is all new to me. Problem is controls. I like the FEEL of the wheel but my hands are just too small to use it properly; in order to launch a weapon I have to reposition my left hand, then I can’t move it back to the drift button easily. Same goes for the classic controller, where I need to reach up for the mushy L trigger and then shift back. I’m going to try wiimote only — I think without the thick wheel frame in the way that might work pretty well for me. Until then I reserve judgement and REALLY wish developers would let us remap the damn controls in their game. (And I know one or two of you guys read this blog, so pass that up the food chain, mmkay? Disabled gamers are gamers too!)

Team Fortress 2 Gold Rush – AWESOME MAP. So chaotic, so wonderous, and actually quite balanced as far as we can tell with a zillion medics running around. There’s plenty of pyro routes (although too often I have no way to get there without crossing vast open terrain) and spy hidey holes. Being an engy is harder since any good sentry position will get steamrolled quickly, but hey. This one’s got promise, way more than scout/soldier dominated Badlands does. (“Let’s make points 2/4 be inaccessible to any class other than the jumpers! Yeah!”)

Grand Theft Auto 4 – Actually, I didn’t buy this. I’m worried about control issues. I can’t do tactical shooters on Xbox controls; I fumble around trying to move my hands between triggers and twin sticks and generally muck it up. I’m going to wait until I can rent this and test it out before I drop coin on it. Also, like past GTAs, odds are it’ll be initially fun until I hit a mission I can’t complete because I lack skillz — Bomb Da Base type missions. If there’s a PC version I have a chance at getting a trainer/cheat in place AND proper controls, but so far none’s announced. Guess we’ll wait and see.

Feels good to finally have something new to talk about other than SL. Huzzah!

Actions

Information

12 responses

30 04 2008
annepackrat

Have you tried using the Auto mode vs. Manual? For me the Trigger / B button launches the item in that since your drift is automated. Or is reaching the trigger what’s too difficult?

30 04 2008
demota

My favored setup is remote + nunchuck. You may want to give that a try. Though I’m not sure if that’s too big for you. Only needing to shake one hand for the stunts makes it easier for me to steer.
I need to free up some HD space to start playing TF2 again. I’ve been missing out on so much.

30 04 2008
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

I thought auto mode was kinda crippled, in that it couldn’t get orange boosts?
I’d prefer to use the ‘real’ controls, just with a controller that makes sense in my hands.

30 04 2008
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

The problem with wiimote + nunchuck is that I’d need to use both B and A at various points. Underside triggers of any sort can give me problems. I’ll give it a try but I think my most likely candidate will be wiimote-only, without the thick shell to reach around.

30 04 2008
annepackrat

Yeah it is. I just got the game and haven’t played with it long so it’s been fine with me so far. They do say numchuk and Wiimote is the best way to play it if you have to do tricks.

30 04 2008
demota

Don’t have the manual handy right now, but what’s B do in the remote/nunchuck control scheme again?
That aside, Wiimote-only could be pretty good for you.

30 04 2008
sscougall

Double Dragon
On Double Dragon, and the punker girls with whpis: I seem to remember, way back when the game was new, the girls with whips being nicknamed the Leather Goddesses of Phobos.
And one thing I definitely remember is the sheer power of the elbow move.

1 05 2008
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Re: Double Dragon
I’m usually dead at the two Bobos at the end of M3. I can’t tell if that’s because I lack skillz or because the game’s unfair but I’m willing to bet on unfair, given I can plow through Final Fight, TMNT, and D&D:Mystera for a hell of a long time on one coin.

1 05 2008
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

ow. ow. ow.
Tried it both ways just now. Wiimote alone, my right hand cramps up severely after two races of constantly holding down the 2 button. (Why the hell can’t there be auto-gas?) Wiimote+Nunchuck, not as bad, but keeping the nunchuck still (since I can’t HOLD it, it’s on a woodblock) is hard and again, constantly holding a button down equals pain.
I don’t think auto mode would help. Dammit. It’s a simple game and I can’t play it due to disability. ;_; Gotta be SOMETHING I can do… maybe tape the 2 button down or get some sort of lock/unlock to hold it… then I can focus on tilting the wiimote or whatever.

1 05 2008
sscougall

Re: Double Dragon
You know, I completely forgot that the Virtual Console release of Double Dragon is probably the NES version. I was thinking of the arcade version. I have no idea about the elbow move on the NES version, or even if it has one. It was probably an overpowered game-breaking move. Thankfully, it was on your side. ^_^
D&D:Mystara – I spent two~three years of practice on this game, focusing mainly on the Thief character. I came very close to finishing the game solo with the Thief, but never really managed it. I remember once being dared to try the game as someone else, “like the Cleric.” I finished the game on one credit, solo, with the Cleric. Hah. Good times. Those were the days.

1 05 2008
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Re: Double Dragon
Thief’s my favorite, too. Good manuverability and speed. Fact that she’s a hottie helps as well. *_*
Not surprising though that soloing the game with the rogue is harder than the cleric. That’s basically D&D for you. A good cleric build is a freaking tankmage.
I’m looking forward to 4e’s warmasters, though… the idea of a ‘cleric who isn’t a cleric’ appeals.

2 05 2008
Anonymous

Re: Mystara
One of the coolest things I ever saw was watching someone clear that game without dying once, and finding all the secrets, including beating the red dragon hidden boss. He was playing Cleric (surprise) and only needed to Cure himself three times over the course of the game. Watching him in most of the boss fights was pretty disturbing, though: knock down boss, drop 10 pots of burning oil on it, go to next level.
Also, Goldrush is scarily well designed. Besides being the first good Pyro map, I’ve seen amazing things all classes can pull off. As offense Engi for a whole round, my teleporter ended up being used 29 times. Wow.
-NeoVid

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

