MASS FAIL

12 02 2008

You know the other reason I put off getting Mass Effect? I was hoping for a PC version, since I’m more comfortable with a mouse and keyboard. I’m hideously bad at 360 controls and it drastically hurts my ability to play the game.

I waited, and waited, and figured I was tired of waiting and my 360 version arrived yesterday.

Today, EA announces a PC version due out in May.

*sigh*

Well, I guess I can sell the brand spanking new version I got on eBay… :(

EDIT: You know what? Forget it. I’ll play the copy I have. I’m not gonna be a victim of the game industry’s lousy communications and pricing schemes. Plus, I’m not interested in re-playing the first five hours of the game AGAIN. Plus, the crappy controls will be good practice for dealing with the crappy controls in other 360 games. Plus, I wanna PLAY the game, dammit!

But if I get to the point where I can’t progress because I don’t have precise enough aim due to my disability, I’m gonna have to unleash some severe beatings. Maybe on someone in Canada. Yeah. You heard me.

Actions

Information

18 responses

12 02 2008
phenyx

Sorry ’bout that, Chief.

12 02 2008
luinthoron

Sorry to hear that, but at the same time, thank you for the good news!

12 02 2008
agermain

argh, sorry about that >_<

12 02 2008
loopychew

Yeah, I read that too and thought, “…oh dear.”
On the other hand, given the requirements of other console ports as of late (e.g. Assassin’s Creed, Gears, Stranglehold), are you sure you’d want to get the GFW version? It’d probably require a quad-core processor and a video card with Shader Model 4.0 compatibility and 1GB video RAM and a three-nipple keyboard as minimum requirements.

12 02 2008
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

That’s the other big doubt about the PC. First thing I did was look for specs.
I have a dual core 2.4 and 2 gigs of RAM, so that’s usually enough for these 360 converts… but my video is a Nvidia 7950GT. A badass card, no doubt, but it’s not a DX10 part and it’s not even the best DX9 part.
It confuses me why the requirements are so damn steep on these games. The 360 is not THAT badass of a machine compared to these specs. Is it because “high def” is actually “720 pixels tall” is actually “what PC owners had back in, oh, 2002 and earlier”?

12 02 2008
j_arcane

No offense dude, but you probably should’ve seen this coming. All their other games got ported eventually, even Jade Empire, which is about as consoletastic as it gets.
loopychew has a good point though, if it goes as well as some of the recent 360 ports you’ll be looking at a new box just to run it.

12 02 2008
j_arcane

Crappy coding does it, usually. Poor optimization in particular.
With those specs though, you’re actually doing pretty good. DX10 doesn’t matter much really, you’ll get better performance and almost identical visuals under DX9 in XP as you will under DX10 in Vista. And the 7950 is a good card.
If you want to pick up a beefier card for not too much money though, consider nabbing one of the new ATI HD3800 series cards.

12 02 2008
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

I was EXPECTING it coming. But with the brouhaha about EA buying Bioware and the 360 exclusivity of the series being reaffirmed repeatedly I figured this would either be the exception to the rule or it wouldn’t be out until the holiday season, which is far too long.
Could be worse; I would’ve been a Rock Band fan hanging on waiting for a Wii port (which was only recently announced and has no release date or feature set info). Or a Rock Band fan in EUROPE, god forbid.

12 02 2008
nekoneko

Knock ’em dead! RAR! ^_~

12 02 2008
j_arcane

Heh, I still wanna see Rock Band get ported to PC. :D

12 02 2008
jeffreycwells

On the one hand, my condolences on this bit of mistimery.
On the other hand, w00t! I get to play Mass Effect at some point! …assuming my machine is up to snuff; much like yours in hardware and running Vista…

12 02 2008
cmdr_zoom

Meanwhile, the sensible people who are putting off converting to MS’s latest public beta are screwed in other ways.

12 02 2008
jeffreycwells

Vista is not my friend, for the most part, but I also feel your pain over there on the other side of the OS divide. I’d likely have stuck with XP myself if it’d been an option anymore on a new system from the manufacturer I chose. :P (Back in Ye Olde Days, I used to think PC gaming was superior to console gaming because of better backwards compatibility. How naive I was…)

12 02 2008
mac1235

Yeah. I was afraid I would not get to play ME as all!

12 02 2008
raigne

I noted Jade Empire a couple posts ago. It took them a really long time to port that one. For all anyone knew it could have been a year before mass effect made it to the pc.

12 02 2008
raigne

I dunno, there’s a few games I’d be willing to try a dual boot out on. This machine is vista ready. I made sure of it when I built it. I’d be installing it with a great deal of reluctance though…

13 02 2008
loopychew

Strangely enough, though, most of the cross-platform first/third-person games I can think of off the top of my head use Unreal Engine 3 (Gears, Stranglehold, BioShock), and of those only Stranglehold has extremely demanding requirements. Assassin’s Creed is a whole new bag, however.
Tomb Raider, however, manages to remain relatively modest.

14 02 2008
thrikreen

Sowwy Twoof.

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

