DJing Today @ Insert Coin Arcade

27 11 2007

(I actually meant to post this to second_lifers, but … eh, may as well crosspost here, too! For those of you in SL.)

In prep for our December 7th Child’s Play Charity Benefit, I decided to rent out one of those 24 hour Shoutcast streams and put it through the paces. So, part tech test, part DJing madness, I’m going to be live DJing off and on all day long at Insert Coin Arcade. I’ve got a sampling of rock, techno, nerdcore, and other miscellaneous weirdness loaded and randomized. (When I do the gala I’ll hand-pick stuff, but for an all-day spammage, don’t expect flawless flow and groove. :)

Anybody’s welcome to drop in, listen, chat, etc. I’m also showing off a beta build of the Seven’s Selections DJ Contraption I plan to sell soon — it has built in particle effects, a video screen, and the whole thing is wearable so you can go “Prim limit? WHAT prim limit?”

Drop in at:
http://slurl.com/secondlife/Flotsam%20Beach/93/144/21/

TWOOF’S LJ BONUS ONLY! Tune directly in without going to SL, for those of you who feel SL is only for furries and deviants, by tuning winamp / wmp / itunes / etc. to this stream. I only have 50 listener slots and I’d prefer most of them be SLers, but hey, not THAT many people read my LJ.. right?

EDIT: Shut down for the day. It’s a successful experiment; audio quality was great and the price point was very nice. This’ll work well for the 7th. We also built a huge party palace in the arcade I’ll post about later.

Actions

Information

10 responses

27 11 2007
raigne

According to your friend of list, 258. :P
I may reinstall SL (I never uninstalled it… I did have to reformat my computer though…) and come. Had a few things from a child’s play wishlist set to go in my amazon cart, but it needs another paycheck. My play money for this month was spent on xmas presents for my family :x

27 11 2007
boringplanet

audio stream
i’m listening to the stream now, at work. sounds great. it opened up in realPlayer. i’m not in SL yet, maybe someday.

27 11 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Re: audio stream
Yay. :) It should work with most modern audio player programs.
I’ve got my “Awesome/Soaring” playlist loaded now; all upbeat and fast paced stuff. Hope you enjoy it!

27 11 2007
boringplanet

Re: audio stream
definitely enjoying it! thanks. is there any way to get the playlist?

27 11 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Re: audio stream
I’ll try to get an export from iTunes of the track names that are in this playlist, but since it’s on shuffle, I can’t say what order they’ll appear in while I’m playing them…
Here you go.

27 11 2007
gkathellar

Didn’t you once get something like 90 comments for breathing too loudly?
Was going to listen, but it looks like the server’s down.

27 11 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

I shut it down just now so I can take a break, get dinner, shower, etc.
I’ll be back at 8pm eastern. I may even make a real playlist this time!

28 11 2007
gkathellar

Huzzah!

28 11 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

We’re back on the air!

28 11 2007
gkathellar

Synonym for huzzah!

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

