Indirectly Courting Controversy

23 10 2007

Let’s stir up the morality beehive a bit! Why not? There’s nothing else to talk about until I get my hands on some sweet, sweet gamin’ tonight.

I was reading a blog dedicated to a rather savage dissection of the Left Behind novels. Most of the entries basically say the same thing — that the books are badly written and highly dangerous due to the un-Christian ideas they pass off as Christianity. Best entry is probably this one, pointing out the problems with this offshoot blend of religion, and how that the attitude of “The end is nigh” translates to “Don’t bother fixing anything or helping anyone because the end is nigh”.

The best part? The blog’s run by a diehard Christian. Criticism often comes best from within, from a subject matter expert. That lends a lot of ethos to your argument, giving you a firm base to stand on. If you’re an outsider to the issue — or worse, already completely against anyone involved in the issue (in this case, some outspoken atheist, as many LB critics are) then you lose points because you probably wouldn’t like ANYTHING relevant to the issue, much less this issue itself. Being close to the issue AND against it adds weight. I appreciate that.

Two other fun quotes:
“Kill-the-irredeemable-infidel fundamentalism is always the same religion, no matter what faith it masquerades as a form of.”
“Ezek. 23:20.” (Seriously, look it up. I want to see someone hold THAT up at a sporting event.)

Tangential to the religion issue is the issue of Second Life Not Actually Dying, News At 11, in which someone loudly declares SL to be doomed while standing amidst his own personal Irony. It’s quite a humorous read, and caps off in comments where someone actually had the cajones to tell me “I believe in the Wiccan Rede, and by the way, nobody who values mainstream experiences should be in SL and we’re better off without them.”

HA! Oh Internets, you are a source of endless, endless amusement. I swear, you are corrupting me quite fiercely… years ago I wouldn’t dive headfirst into a flamefest about a video game, but yesterday I was freely arguing with people about Rock Band’s lack of a solo Band World Tour mode. Which was useless because it basically devolves into “Lol you have no friends” vs. “I feel entitled to everything in the world!”. And yet… I find myself unable to look away. It’s like a car crash at the side of the road that you willingly veer headfirst into to make it worse. Clearly, the webs are tools of Carpathia, the great Adversary, heir to the silence at the dawn of time.

Actions

Information

16 responses

23 10 2007
jenshikami

Left Behind? Hmm, interesting… I’ll check it out…
As for the comment you’re referring to from my blog, I must clarify that that’s not a literal quote. :) Soph doesn’t strike me as quite that militant! However, that IS the attitude I’ve seen from a lot of people, and that seems to be your point. The whole “You have to tolerate and respect me, but I don’t have to tolerate and respect you because YOU are too NORMAL” approach.
Mmm, yummy dawn silence.

23 10 2007
meagenimage

We should strike back. Go to some gay bondage clubs and hold loud conversations about straight vanilla sex, or something.

23 10 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

DEVIANT!

23 10 2007
fraggedone

Which translation of the Bible were they referencing for Ezekiel 23:20? I’m looking at several thanks to internet bibles, and some of them seem funnier than others, especially if held up at a WWE event.

23 10 2007
bigscary

Slacktivist’s LB blogging has been a highlight of my Fridays for years now.

23 10 2007
gkathellar

Personally, I prefer the one about horse semen.

23 10 2007
gkathellar

Wasn’t there a Left Behind video game in which your job was essentially to run around New York killing all the heretics?
Seriously, that’s a lot of heretics.

23 10 2007
fraggedone

What about the flesh of asses?

23 10 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Yep. It was HIGHLY questionable. You could play as the Tribulation Forces or the UN Peacekeepers. Guess which one was evil incarnate! If you said “the ones who have peace in their name”, you’re right! Jesus HATES peace.
They tried to add a moral component, oddly. The good side is powered by spirituality, the evil side by lack thereof. You gain troops by converting them (raising spirit). If the troops kill anyone (y’know, which happens in war) then their spirit falls and you risk losing them.
Is the answer not to kill anyone? Hell no! Jesus hates peace! Kill the hell out of the bad guys. Just make sure you pray afterwards to replenish your spirit meter, and everything will be right as rain!
The game did not sell very well.

24 10 2007
jeffreycwells

Wanna know my favorite position? It starts with “M” and ends in “issionary”.

24 10 2007
gkathellar

Same thing. Asses = donkeys.

24 10 2007
cmdr_zoom

How very Catholic. (Yes, I know these are Protestant wingnuts.)

24 10 2007
kublaikhan

Wait, who’s this heir to the “silence at the dawn of time”? ‘cuz I could use some peace and quiet, especially with all the helicopters and sirens and stuff lately…

24 10 2007
grizzygriswold

I must read this blog. Left Behind is pure unadulterated crap. Anyone who has done any serious biblical research knows revelation was written in code.
I would have jumped into the SL conversation, but I think I’ll leave such things to my own livejournal, seeing as how I’m not in the mood for more flamewars. (:

25 10 2007
omahdon

Christian gaming in general is largely problematic as gaming, by its very nature, emphasises conflict and re-achieving equilibrium when given a state that is decidedly is not so – and the most common way to achieve said equilibrium is through MAD UNCONTROLLED SPURTS OF VIOLENCE. Conflict resolution: It’s all about jumping on the bad guy’s head, shooting the bad guy in the head, or scrolling through menus to find the command to burst open that guy’s head. That sounds vaguely unChristian-like to me, overall.

25 10 2007
grizzygriswold

Re: But you did jump in…
Yeah, its the result of a day of debate on whether or not to and boredom at work. Not only have I enjoyed the discussion… (I wouldn’t really call it an argument, because it seems to not be argumentative) but it has helped stave off further boredom. I’m glad I took the risk.

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

