You get out of it what you had originally.

10 10 2007

Who says Machinima can’t evoke emotion?

Watch Ignus Solus, a movie made using Teamfortress 2. In short, it’s a lone pyro on a capture-the-flag style map… with nothing to do.

Sounds dreadfully boring — and some of you may agree. What I love about this is the music, the moods, the character’s simple and subtle reactions… they can speak of a lot of things. Humor. Loneliness. Despair. Joy. Loss. And ultimately… well, it’s up to the viewer to decide what it all means, if anything, and how they relate to it. It’s easy to find a dim echo of your own life in art, and start viewing it entirely through that lens, getting a different experience than anyone else gets as a result. Saying “This is what it’s about” kind of ruins that.

Anyway, if you’ve got ten minutes, give it a watch. You may laugh, you may cry, you may be bored, but it’ll evoke something.

If you want more creepy, confusing, and odd video, watch this, too. This song’s a prominent feature in my “creepy” playlist.

This weekend was a mixed media weekend, of various video and games and combinations of the two words. I even got a social movie party out of it. Still, it’ll be good to return to normalcy… and good to finally finish this driving game project I’m on. It’s hard to put a finger down on what makes me happy lately and whether that happy is true or not. I’m playing a wait and see game.

Actions

Information

5 responses

10 10 2007
cmdr_zoom

That was pretty awesome. Thanks for the link.

10 10 2007
sleet01

I definitely laughed at Ignus Solus; the pyro is quite a child-like character :)
“A Ribbon” just reminded me of the tentacle scene from ‘Enemy Mine’ too much to be very enjoyable, and the ending… yeah, ‘creepy’ is a perfect fit.
Thanks for the links!

10 10 2007
kowh

I caught the link to Ignus Solus off Ctrl-Alt-Del last night, great work. If you poke about further, you can find their other work, Combine Nation. It’s less artistic, and more sitcom, but still good stuff.
As far as gaming, I finished Bioshock just in time for Portal and HL2:Ep 2. I’m very much looking forward to Portal. So far I’ve heard it’s short, but made of win.

10 10 2007
kowh

I caught the link to Ignus Solus off Ctrl-Alt-Del last night, great work. If you poke about further, you can find their other work, Combine Nation. It’s less artistic, and more sitcom, but still good stuff.
As far as gaming, I finished Bioshock just in time for Portal and HL2:Ep 2. I’m very much looking forward to Portal. So far I’ve heard it’s short, but made of win.

10 10 2007
cmdr_zoom

p.s.: agreeing with one of the youtube comments, my favorite part is probably the mask-muffled “hmhmhmhmhm!” ^_^

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

