Makin’ Planz

28 09 2007

Today, I drive over to GameCrazy and shuffle my $5 down from Tony Hawk to another game. Cheer up the clerk by noting I’ll probably buy it used next summer, which makes them more money, anyway.

In the end, my game grabs will be:
* Orange Box: TF2 is good for quick pickup/putdown, and Portal will be short. I’ll put the HL2 eps off for a rainy day.
* Eternal Sonata: I’ll play this off and on as time permits. Not gonna try to rush through it.
* Beautiful Katamari: Again, quick to finish up and enjoy.
* Phoenix Wright: I can knock this off in a week. It’s like reading a really good novel.
* Guitar Hero / Rock Band: Perfect for pickups and putdowns. Anything more marathony and my wrist will start to hurt.
* MySims: For Christmas. By that point I’ll have put most of the prior to bed and can spend some time on it.

Also, I am going to obtain fried chicken. Because it has been a long time. I’m not talking chicken nuggets or strips, I’m talking about real, honest to goodness, greasy fried chicken right off the bone. Granted, it’s just Popeye’s, because there’s no KFC around here, but it’ll do. Mmmm. Biscuits.

This weekend I might COH a bit, but it’ll generally be a minimum. I11 looks great, though, so I’ll refocus my efforts them. Meanwhile it’s Teamfortress 2, where some of the DFBers are starting to rock the hizzle, and Second Life, where I need to get cracking on new arcade game code.

It’s the driving game, which even without new features, is gonna be a pile and a half to recode… I’m thinking I need to code and test units individually, so it’s less of a gargantuan task.

Should be a fun weekend! Now if I can just endure one more work day prior to getting there…

Actions

Information

17 responses

28 09 2007
kowh

Hmm, it occurs to me that we could use that new fangled “friends” feature in Steam and I might actually get to play TF2 in the same server at the same time as you. Go figure.
I haven’t really used it much, so when I get home I’ll figure out what exactly we need to exchange to get it working.

28 09 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

I need either your SteamID or your Steam Community ID. It’s not clear which one it is. Regardless, mine are either StefanGagne or HeXcoda.

28 09 2007
finamenon

Popeye’s > KFC
At least where I come from it is :p

28 09 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

I dunno. Popeye’s can be more hit or miss… sometimes it’s great, sometimes it’s stringy and tough. KFC is consistently smooth and meaty if a bit processed. It’s like eating doritos instead of nachos… less spectacular but more straightforward.

28 09 2007
kowh

Mine would likely then be Kowh, but I’ll check when I get home.

28 09 2007
ladybrick

It must be the week for fried chicken… I just picked up some KFC last night :) In my experience, Popeye’s is often better than KFC. I forget, do they have Bojangles around your way?

28 09 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Nope. The only chicken fixes in the area are either burger joints (McDonalds, Wendy’s), Chick Fil-A, or Popeye’s.
Dangit, I’m all itchy to get me some chikins. Hurry up, time!

28 09 2007
ladybrick

Hmm, I know my dad is a big Bojangles fan, but he must have gotten it on road trips when we lived in MD and VA.
I am envious that you’re going to a place with decent biscuits… the one I got yesterday was hard as a rock :/

28 09 2007
arthurh3535

City of Heroes i11 is definitely generating some serious hype with those damn Cryptic teasers they are putting out!
GAH!

28 09 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Some photos of Dual Blades were released, too.
I am filled with Meh. When I voted for it originally I was figuring we’d finally get a knives based set… as is these look like rapiers, VERY! skinny and long and slightly curved. Just looks weird.
Still, I likes me some weapon sets, so I’ll wait and see… beats “I punches with fire!” or “I punches with ice!” or “I punches with the darkness!”

28 09 2007
kowh

SteamID or email address. And then the name you show up under is your Community ID. In any event, I’ve added you. My SteamID is indeed Kowh.

29 09 2007
Anonymous

…extremely long. As I said to Pyro earlier, those damn things look extremely awkward on anything but a Huge body-type. And even then….
….I was really hoping for a knives set too.
-TH

29 09 2007
lirazel

All the Popeye’s closed up here. I was very unhappy. I love their dirty rice.

29 09 2007
jenshikami

Methinks they don’t want them to look like anything a teenager is likely to walk into a high school with. (hunting knives, whatnot…)

29 09 2007
keikotakamura

How the hell do you get a discussion 14 comments long going with a post about going to get some fried chicken? How do you do it? I hate you.
By the way, I also hate you because I’m on a diet. Maybe I’m just cranky and hungry.

29 09 2007
Anonymous

They obviously never met ME in high school…
-TH

30 09 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

I probably shouldn’t be noshing down on all the crap I’m eating this weekend, either! I’m allegedly on an exercise program and trying to watch my weight…
As for the post count, like I sed in SL, I’ve done a LOT of online projects over the years across a lot of mediums… media? Both. So, I tend to gather up folks like a katamari.

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

