Scratching Off the Planned Plans

11 09 2007

Bioshock — More or less done. I’ve gotten past “the big reveal” which, sadly, I had accidentally spoiled multiple times already. It is interesting to see how the bits fit together, though, and the actual reveal scene was spectacular. Now it’s just a matter of hunting down the bigbad and encountering various things, so I can put this aside for now for a rainy day finish.

Tonight, I’ll be doing a COV raid, which hopefully will go better than last week’s. Didn’t even get an HO last week because the raid failed, needed more dominators. Curses.

We’re setting up for a possible music festival at Flotsam Beach this weekend; it was a “Will we or won’t we” sort of thing until various schedules got tossed into turmoil. Gotta prep for that, so.

Haven’t thought of an iai idea yet, but I haven’t really sat down TO think of an iai idea yet. I did take a poke at building the readable book in SL, with no luck. I want it lookin’ goood and that means a lot of scripting to make the prims ‘rearrange’ themselves into an open/closed book state. I was also considering scanning the text as images to put in the book, but that way probably lies madness, so notecards it is.

I looked through my back entries around 9/11/2001, out of morbid curiosity. The actual day’s entries are sparse and detached, with angsty followups, which is accurate to my mood. It’s also VERY focused on wrestling, which is weird since I stopped following wrestling like two years ago. (Not because I hate it, but because the WWE bores and annoys me. I still like the CONCEPT of it… but I wish it could be done with less backstage drama, less drugs, and more consistent storytelling. Honestly, the best form would be 100% CG/Animated/Machinima, but that’s not happening.)

Anyway, back to things… kind of a nothin’ entry but they can’t all be grand slams.

Edit: I’m preordering Valve’s Orange Box package, which means I’ll have a superfluous Half-Life 2 code. (I didn’t have Ep1 before.) Is there anybody here who HASN’T played HL2 to death who would be interested in a Steam code for a free copy of it? I’d make it some promotional giveaway (free video game, after all!) but honestly I’m guessing everybody who wants it already has it… Someone claimed it. Maybe next time! I highly recommend hitting Steam and getting the Steam client, though; it’s got a TON of games for sale and digital distribution. Which I feel is the future for indie game developers like me. Which I have PROVEN via my hundreds of dollars in SL game sales. GO ME.

Actions

Information

11 responses

11 09 2007
kublaikhan

Honestly, the best form would be 100% CG/Animated/Machinima, but that’s not happening
Says who?

11 09 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Says logic. In order to do it with 100% fictional assets, you can’t have a live audience to react to the action, you have to basically make it a serial TV show. Serial shows demand new content on a regular basis, which works for soap operas, but doesn’t work for animation no matter how machinima-streamlined you can make it. So that means you’re down to having a regular animated series with 12-24 episodes in a season and then a hiatus to make more…
At that point, well, you don’t have “sports entertainment”, you just have “entertainment”. You have any basic monster of the week beat ’em up with reoccuring characters and an uberplot. It’s okay, but it’s not the same thing as a true TV version of, say, Ultra. A TV serial that works like that would be fun but it’s not going to replace wrestling’s ability to provide on-demand, on-the-fly storytelling.

11 09 2007
kublaikhan

In Second-Life, though, you could conceivably pull off something of the sort–it’d require massive logistics and planning, and a large, dedicated group to do it right, but that’s not that much different from the real thing, ne?

11 09 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

If SL was not a pile of crap when it comes to combat animations and avatar interactions and communications, yes, it might work. Assuming you can get the audience to swallow the concept of chunky and repetitive machinima as entertainment when they have trouble even accepting fluid and custom animated 3-D graphics for TV shows (Game Over, Father of the Pride, etc). You could find a niche audience IN SL for it, I guess, if, again, SL was not crap.

11 09 2007
kublaikhan

TV-shows, perhaps not. But Red vs. Blue did quite well–you just have to find the right niche is all.
SecondLife is, perhaps, not the best platform–but I could see something of the sort happening in the not-too-distant future.

11 09 2007
jeffreycwells

Because I am a -10 on my saves vs. accidental spoilage, I crunched HARD on that game, and actually made it to the reveal without spoilage. As I blogged in my own LJ, the scene itself was hella powerful but the rest didn’t make a lot of sense. Good game, but not the Second Coming, on account of that and the somewhat limp ending.
In actuality, I have wanted to play HL2 at some point but never got around to it. Unfortunately, I am also -10 on all my tech skill rolls, so I would have to be walked carefully through any process more complex than “Visit This URL”. So it may not work. But I’m curious, nonetheless…

11 09 2007
Anonymous

Not that I actually want anything specific enough to be a spoiler, but was it the good ending or the bad ending that was limp?

11 09 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Unfortunately an old friend of mine claimed it in IM shortly after I posted that, so, it’s a-gone. But if you want it yourself visit http://www.steampowered.com and download the Steam client.
Steam is a digital distribution platform for games, dirt simple to use, with a pretty nice library including HL2. Highly recommended.

11 09 2007
jeffreycwells

Thanks anyway! :)

11 09 2007
jeffreycwells

Both; the good is somewhat more satisfying than the bad, but considering the hard cinematic feel of some of the preceding content, I was frankly expecting more.

12 09 2007
kowh

Heh. I’m going to grab the Orange Box myself, and have no idea what to do with a superfluous copy of HL2 for similar reasons. So if anyone was especially heartbroken by missing out on yours, I can easily be convinced to part with mine.

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

