Calling All Audio Geeks

11 08 2007

I need help.

I’m working on my Pole Position replacement game. Problem is, I don’t have any good engine sounds to go with it — my previous one used audio sampled from me playing Pole Position, which obviously is not gonna work in a copyright-violation-free game.

I found YMCK’s VST plugin for creating 8-bit style sound effects, which is the feel I want, but it’s a MIDI tool and I’m not a MIDI musician. Audacity has VST capability but I can’t make it work, so I suspect actual MIDI is needed here.

If someone’s got the skills and is willing to work on this project with/for me, I’d be willing to pay some actual cash for full rights to reproduce the scratchy noises you make. (Not, like, Real Game Studio Development Budget money, but like Four Rentals And A Bag Of Chips And Some Salsa Makes A Good Weekend money.) I’m fine for music — what I need is arcade style racing game sound effects. Engine revving, tires screeching, doppler effect on passing a car, etc… I can give specifications in email. In the end it’s gonna amount to 6-7 samples, 10 seconds long each.

If you can help or know someone who can, let me know. Remember, I need arcadey style electronic noise, so bringing your parabolic mike out to the racetrack is not gonna work.

…in fact, this request is probably not gonna work at all, but hey, I’ve tapped the LJ resource before and gotten gold, so you never know.

Actions

Information

13 responses

12 08 2007
kublaikhan

Hrmmm. If nobody else offers by tonight, I’ll take a stab at it.

12 08 2007
inklesspen

I’m no audio geek, but you might be able to find some usable stuff here:
http://freesound.iua.upf.edu/

13 08 2007
gabrielbenjamin

sptrashcan pointed this post out to me. I’m always looking for more VST plugins, so since you’ve linked to one, this is a perfect way to try it out. If no one else will, I’d be happy to give it a shot.

13 08 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Unfortunately, all the car sounds I found there were realistic ones. I need video game sounds. Thanks, though!

13 08 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Take a gander at this file. These are the Pole Position samples I’m using now, so, I’d need something similar… a variety of similar samples, but with the occasional variance, to simulate an engine lulling and gunning and such. At least one variant where you pass another car. etc. And whatever else you can think up.
http://rapidshare.com/files/48655906/pole-revloops.zip.html
(Apologies for rapidshare, but I didn’t want to worry about the bandwidth bill.)

13 08 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Check out the link I posted to Kub earlier in this post. Always helps to have more than one candidate to pick from, so I’d welcome any efforts!

13 08 2007
kublaikhan

Alrighty, I’ll give it a shot. Perhaps I can synthesize an engine sound, and frequency-shift it up and down for the rev/doppler noises, for space-saving authenticity.

14 08 2007
kublaikhan

The first attempt at the base engine sound can be found here. Lemme know if that sounds like an acceptable base sound, and I’ll work some magic on that.

15 08 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

I think it need to be a lower, more rumbly sound — it’s too much like a high pitched alarm clock. I tried pitching it down 50% and it’s okay, but definitely needs more bass.

15 08 2007
gabrielbenjamin

I’ve got a couple of sounds ready; I tried to loosely imitate the loops you provided. Can I e-mail them to you? I don’t really have a place to host files.
What I have:
-idling sound
-starting rev sound
-3 varied-pitch driving rev sounds
-bare doppler noise (i.e., nothing else in the mix)
-generic racing-game stoplight tones (I think you know what I mean :)
-crash sound
One other question: The “passing car” sound in your Pole Position pack has a car passing somewhere in the middle of it. Should I do that, or would you rather just have a separate sample with just noises of a passing car?

15 08 2007
kublaikhan

Same place, Mark II

15 08 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Sure, email to stefangagne@gmail.com or use rapidshare.com.
The passing car can be a separate sound. I can mix them together in-SL.
THANKS for your help! I’ll buzz you again when the email arriveth.

15 08 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Soundin’ much better! That’ll make a good building block to work with.
Let’s carry on in email, it’s easier… stefangagne@gmail.com
I know it’s kind of odd to have two people on the job here (see below). Even if I don’t end up using one person’s, I’ll compensate the somehow, no worry.

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

