Gotta Catch a Reasonable Amount Of ‘Em All

4 07 2007

Lord help me, I bought Pokemon Diamond.

The featureset won me over. Pretty overworld maps. Touchscreen support. Wifi trading and battles. Connectivity with the Wii game. And the fact that I have fond memories of poking my way through Pokemon Red back in college, between classes, on my Gameboy Pocket.

I have no intention of being a fanatical completionist — I want one or two solid pokemon of each type, and then I’mma done. But it is nice to dip back into this world a bit, and do some very low mental power RPG action. My skills have improved since my City of X play… timing debuffs and buffs, knowing when to attack and what to attack with, etc. It’s a universal gamer ability. I anticipate a reasonable amount of funs.

My friend code is 3136 3689 9515, although I haven’t even beaten the first gym leader yet. Probably by the end of the day, though.

Also? Rock Band is going to kick so much ass. Problem is, I don’t have anybody to play it with, and that’s over half the fun. Playing online is possible, but Random Internet Jackoffs are gonna go “You don’t play on Expert difficulty? HAHAHAHALOSERFAG” and that’ll be the end of that. Is anybody out there a 360 gamer, a nice person, and independently wealthy and thus able to afford this game..?

This is a bit of an ongoing problem for me. I have no local friends who are gamers. I barely have any local friends at all, since most of my high school buddies have kinda moved on since. And if you mention “video games” at my office, people wrinkle their wrinkled brows and go “Young man, what is this ‘game of a vid-ee-oo’ of which you speak? Is it played by utilizing the telegrammaphone? Fetch me some leeches, so that I may drain my ill humours!”

Actions

Information

22 responses

4 07 2007
seangaffney

You must buy Nervous Brickdown and BASH BRICKS.

4 07 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Does it use the nunchuck? I can’t use games that use the nunchuck.

4 07 2007
seangaffney

It’s a stylus-only game, yar.

4 07 2007
midnightlurker

Sadly for me, I can’t resist the urge to be a fanatical collector. Which means I’m still slogging through Sapphire and Fire Red. *sigh*

4 07 2007
meagenimage

And if you mention “video games” at my office, people wrinkle their wrinkled brows and go “Young man, what is this ‘game of a vid-ee-oo’ of which you speak? Is it played by utilizing the telegrammaphone? Fetch me some leeches, so that I may drain my ill humours!”
I want to have your Internet babies.
…for lunch.

4 07 2007
loopychew

I’m planning on buying it, though it’ll be the European version which hopefully still allows us to play, right?
(I’m also waiting for the 65nm fab 360s to come out.)

4 07 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

No idea if PAL/NTSC will cause region play lockout. I don’t THINK it will, though. I was able to play folks around the world in Street Fighter 2 HF.

5 07 2007
sleet01

Whatever you do, don’t get any Japanese robot games! Custom Robo Arena and Chou Soujuu Mecha MG are both *horrible* about letting you get the last few parts… I think I have over 300 hours in on CSMMG and still 20 robots to go!

5 07 2007
nnjsaber

I have no local friends who are gamers. I barely have any local friends at all, since most of my high school buddies have kinda moved on since.
Same problem.
Just got a 360 a few days ago, and 4 game purchases. Three have the word “Dead” in the title, and the other has “of War.”

5 07 2007
gothstar

We will be buying Rock Band eventually (read: when we have enough money to pay our bills) so we’ll play online with you once we get it :D

5 07 2007
nikumatic

Looks like Rock Band is doing the smart thing and allowing user selected difficulty for each song, so everyone can play on their own level just fine. Personally, I’m terrible at Guitar Hero, so I can’t wait to try out the drums.

5 07 2007
okashira_san

I too have Poke`mon Diamond. COINCIDENCE? I THINK NOT.
Enjoy. Do let me know if you want to hit up on some WiFi Battles and Trades and such. The features are a bit more addicting than one might like.

5 07 2007
loopychew

Awesome. Keeping fingers crossed.
I dunno if you saw IGN’s preview, but the tracks listed? In Bloom and Don’t Fear the Reaper with original master tracks? This game looks to be so full of win, adding any more win to it would cause the win bucket to overflow and probably explode, causing people Boston to drown from the massive amounts of win running through the streets and inundating them.

5 07 2007
loopychew

What, you mean none of them have “Sneak” in the title?

5 07 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Radical.

5 07 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

I beat Dead Sneakers of War. The guy at the end was hard.

5 07 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Yeah, but the problem is that if they’re banging away on Expert and I’m putzing along on Medium, I’m gonna get kicked out. RIJs (Random Internet Jackoffs) have little tolerance for anybody they don’t see at their skill level. There are sadly quite few compassionate-to-non-hardcore types.

6 07 2007
chiave_trust

That’s the reaction I get with games like Dance Dance Revolution. (I know… but still.) RIJs that are younger than me, so pre-teen/high school age, gawking and laughing. “omg you can’t play on Expert?”
What’s worse is what follows: “…you’re a girl. No wonder.”

6 07 2007
cmdr_zoom

These people have obviously never been owned by a Ten Year Old Asian Girl.

6 07 2007
nnjsaber

lol. Have it your way.

6 07 2007
delfina

That video doesn’t work, it’s been taken off YouTube. I did look up the game, though – I’m not that interested in playing instruments but the newer vocal karaoke games are something that Lee and I are both interested in. We have not yet purchased any but we were considering it. Lee has more interest in the instrumental games, I’ll let him know about this one. We just figured out how to hook up the Xbox 360 online like, the day before yesterday. :D (He had to get Paperboy and Catan, I wanted Oblivion stuff…)
Erm, so yeah, I just downloaded the expansion pack for Oblivion and will probably be sucked into that for a while. In addition to finishing Suikoden V. When I can wrestle away the TV and 360 from my husband.

4 08 2007
luinthoron

Finally have my Pokémon Diamond! :)
1590 2085 6060, if you want to add me as well.

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

