Fist of Discomfort Lives (Just Not In The Way You Expect)

1 07 2007

Hey, kids! Remember my tribute to the scrolling beat ’em up, Fist of Discomfort? It was an NWN project. D&D kinda got in the way of what I was trying to accomplish, and the workload was huge, and I backburnered it. Shame, I got a lot of good voice acting auditions, and I always felt bad that they were gonna go to waste.

Well, I’ve brought it back… as an insanely lo-fi retrogame in Second Life.

I can’t use any of the old materials, but the idea of doing a martial arts spoof — and oddly, some of the characters — carries over nicely. Gameplay is simple… you’re presented with a screen full of ninja, wave after wave. Click on all of them to kill them. Ah, but there’s a catch; if you want the BIG POINTS you have to make the most efficient path around the room killing ninja, without crisscrossing the entire screen too often. What’s more, in multiplayer, you’ve got up to FOUR players competing for the same load of ninja… it’s killstealing incarnate, and the fastest martial artist gets the ninja.

As for the look… this says it all, I think. That’s Jake Zanshin, Pao-Pao, Hikari, and Ojisan as P1 through P4 respectively. I’m using wide-pixel, Commodore 64 style graphics. This has the upshot that I don’t need Jen’s help to do all the artwork in the game! I can crank this one out myself. It’s also wholly original so profits are in the bag, without having to freebie-comp previous owners.

I haven’t solved all the code challenges on this one, so we’ll see how it goes, but I’ve got a good feeling. And it was fun drawing tiny ninja being cut to bloody bits. Whee! Rated M for mature. Those little red pixels will clearly stunt young minds.

Edit: Added a Roster Picutre. Includes the basic storyline and motivations from the original game.

Actions

Information

20 responses

1 07 2007
omahdon

FIST! of Discomfort!
This is supremely awesome, love the 8-bit look of the characters and the “we can only fit this amount of text on screen at any one time so let’s sum up the characters with the smallest number of words possible” roster – it’s great to see this thing finally coming out in some form or other! Shame about my Ojisan lines, I really loved doing them…. But I don’t think they’ve aged particularly well.

1 07 2007
silent_siren1

Is your NWN project the Hex code? If so,I can’t wait for it!

1 07 2007
kublaikhan

I love Ojisan’s motivation -so- very much.

1 07 2007
pyromaniac_ks

Seconded.

1 07 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

This isn’t NWN related. I’ve moved on from NWN. Sorry.

1 07 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Re: FIST! of Discomfort!
I was reviewing the audition files, including your awesome work, while prepping for this. :) They’re sweet, but in hindsight, suffer from the same problem the UE radio play did… my writing is fun to read but very awkward to speak. My lines are very verbose, have strange cadence and turn of phrase… it makes it difficult to listen to, even if the acting is spectacular (which these were!).
I considered encorporating them into the SL game anyway, but they’re too long for an action game (plus SL has a 10 second limit), and I never got the actors to agree to let me SELL their work.
Still, I am glad the spirit of the game lives on. And it’s not like I can’t do another take on it in the far future… I’d still love to do HeX coda as an action RPG, for instance. But not without a team and a budget and an engine and so on. So, not likely.

1 07 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Thirded.
…well, I’m biased.
I’m also glas I was able to squeeze out a Pai-Mei lookin’ sprite in that few pixels. And his ninja death anim is the most utterly gory and physically simple. *poke* *asplode*

1 07 2007
meagenimage

Am I the only one picturing these four as a CoH team? Katana/SR, MA/Regen, TA/A and… Mind/* ?

1 07 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

More like Katana/Inv (brash American takes the hit), Ma/SR scrapper (agile dodger), Arc/En Blaster (channeling chi into arrows), Ma/SR stalker (touch of death focus).

1 07 2007
kublaikhan

You know, there’s an anime con in October that my fiancee’ and I were going to go to…perhaps I can convince her to let me cosplay as Ojisan. Those screencaps seem to indicate an easy enough costume to put together…. ;-P
(Especially as a friend of ours tends towards ninja inclinations….)

1 07 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

He’s just Pai-Mei in a slightly different robe. That’s a fun character to cosplay as, though.

1 07 2007
andrewe

FoD lives! NWN was way too hard to make “arcadey”, so this sounds like a better venue for it. :)

2 07 2007
cmdr_zoom

NINJATRON 1984!
(Except without the annoying family.)

2 07 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

There’s no nudity or sexual intercourse. There’s just a few tawdry jokes and the occasional swear word, and of course the normal level of violence in most NWN mods. The “mature” tag is just because it’s intended for a reasonable adult to play rather than an 8 year old kid.

2 07 2007
omahdon

Re: FIST! of Discomfort!
My lines are very verbose, have strange cadence and turn of phrase… it makes it difficult to listen to, even if the acting is spectacular (which these were!).
Actually, I’d always (tried to) read them out loud as lines from a British comedy, in which the players have a gift for making magic out of extremely long and convoluted sentences – specifically drawing upon Red Dwarf and Blackadder. They’re certainly not one-liner zingers followed by a laugh track, but they do have a “Words: They’re a funny old thing innit?” vibe to it. Sort of a “slow-burn” humour.
I don’t suppose I could donate the cheesy 80s retro “Fist of Discomfort!” voice sample towards the project? :-P Maybe even oversample it to give it that “Sinistar” feel….

2 07 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Re: FIST! of Discomfort!
Now, that’s more of a possibility. I actually have direct access to you, unlike the other actors. :) The game has new audio needs; drop an email to twoflowr@pixelscapes.com and we’ll figure it out.

2 07 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

In EE2, yes — mostly implied, some direct, but the sexuality discussed can be quite dark compared to Penultima since EE is psychological horror. Again, it’s nothing a reasonable adult can’t handle.
EE1 has no directly offensive material but does include plenty of violence and torture is discussed.

2 07 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

No, it’s not. It’s a different game series.
How old are you, exactly? This isn’t really anything you have to worry about if you’re over 18…

2 07 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Yes. It has more ninja, see.

2 07 2007
pyromaniac_ks

And less robots.

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

