Beach 07 Day 02: Laze Aboot

19 06 2007

The house has settled into place. More or less. Relatives have been shuffling bedrooms all day. While I ADORE the house, I’m the only one who does… the problem is that while my room is good, with a good bathroom and a good view, everybody else’s rooms are cramped and poorly positioned and laid out. We’re trying to pack 12 people into this house so it’s nightmarish for them. I’d offer up my room, but the problem is that I need space to move and an easy access bathroom. I can’t physically use one of the others. Shucks.

Other than that negative, things are good. More gaming today; near endless card games and bouts of Wii Sports. I played some Rummy with my grandmother, trying to ply my Nintendo DS Clubhouse Games skill… turns out we knew two different games. She plays Gin Rummy, where you hang onto every card, I play Standard Rummy, where you risk if you hold. Once we settled on a rule set (standard) she proceeded to wipe the floor with me. 87 she may be, but when it comes to the cards, she’s devious.

I also plowed, perhaps a bit too fast to really enjoy it, through all of Warioware Smooth Moves. I wanted to unlock multiplayer mode, so I zipped through single player. I’ll sit down and really give it a run next week, I think, savor the cutscenes, etc. Still, terrific stuff, and proof you can make a good game without HD graphics.

And that’s something I’ve noticed, as I play Virtual Console games, and even some of my XBLA games on a standard TV… these older games just don’t make sense on an HD screen. They were designed for the natural aliasing, bright glowing pixels, and scanlines present in an oldschool TV set. They look RIGHT there. Crappy scalers are made of fail, especially since the X-Box doesn’t give you a choice to use a smooth 2x or 3x scaler (they just let you futz with the analog sticks for 2.18 or 1.94 with no hard numers possible). Still, I’ve gone HD, so what can ya do. It is how it is.

I also found the Internet Channel on the Wii is surprisingly good. It’s legible, fast loading, handles layouts and zooming in a snap. I was able to browse Kotaku with it, even with YouTubery embedded, with no issues. The DS version of the same browser (Opera) is severely hampered by the DS’s speed and memory limitations, but the Wii is capable enough. Good show, good show.

(If anybody wants to be Wii Friends, for what that’s worth considering Nintendo’s ass-backwards kid-semi-friendly friend code stuff and lack of actual online titles that don’t start in poke and end in mon, post your friend code and I’ll post mine once I look it up tomorrow.)

Most of the day was lying about, relaxing, gaming. Letting hours slip by. By the time we decided to actually do an organized activity, namely miniature golf, it was too late; at nighttime, Treasure Island Golf is pretty much packed. We showed up but they said it’d be a 15 minute wait and a 2 hour game, likely full of screaming toddlers and drunk teenagers, so forget that. We went and got ice cream instead; I took my first vacation photos. I’ll upload ’em another time, though. I’m going to bed slightly grubby, then at 10am we go golf again during a quieter, if hotter time of day, then shower, then laze again for the day. Yay laze.

Since I started with a negative, I’ll cap with one — of COURSE the week I’m out of the office, a dozen emergency things hit that the fill-in staff can’t wrangle. I did a cursory email check and basically said Sorry, they’re gonna have to wait. The office’s inability to cope without me is a pain. I keep feeling I CAN’T take time off because of this, and here I am trying to take some time off and they fall to pieces? Their problem. Not mine. I’m on vacation. And I’m happy to be here.

Actions

Information

14 responses

19 06 2007
luinthoron

(If anybody wants to be Wii Friends, for what that’s worth considering Nintendo’s ass-backwards kid-semi-friendly friend code stuff and lack of actual online titles that don’t start in poke and end in mon, post your friend code and I’ll post mine once I look it up tomorrow.)
Not that I have any online titles, but a couple of Miis might just walk over, so mine’s 3085 8108 0384 6890.

19 06 2007
luinthoron

Er, sorry for the double comment – LJ gave me an error the first time…

19 06 2007
shachihoko

Welcome to Wii
My Wii friend code is: 5695 3984 3893 6506
(named Shachihoko, if you care ^^)

19 06 2007
lirazel

Since I started with a negative, I’ll cap with one — of COURSE the week I’m out of the office, a dozen emergency things hit that the fill-in staff can’t wrangle. I did a cursory email check and basically said Sorry, they’re gonna have to wait.
Exactly right. It’s taken Bravest a very long time to learn this lesson, and he doesn’t always apply it, but the fact is that it is not your responsibility to fill in for yourself when you’re away. You cannot do good work if you don’t have times of mental and spiritual refreshment, and you will get physically ill–and what’s more draining, mentally burned out and unable to care–if you don’t leave that stuff behind once in a while.
Bravest will have been with the Feds 36 years as of the 27th of this month. He still feels like he can’t take as much vacation as others do, as if he constantly has to prove that he’s capable despite the handicap. Makes me furious, it does…

19 06 2007
delfina

Well, you have great job security!
Btw, you will LOVE the transformation of Flotsam Beach into Delfina Land! Hope you like the color pink! (And who wouldn’t??)

19 06 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

How do I find out my Mii friend code? I poked through menus but couldn’t find it…

19 06 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Job security? Hah, right. Even with this week’s proof they need me, there’s plenty of upper level movers and shakers who want to put their stamp on How Web Gets Done, no matter who they stamp on in the process. We’ll see.
Speaking of stamping, there will be impressive amounts of deplorable violence if I show up in SL and see giant Delfinaland golden statues and pink buildings and fashion plate avatars wandering around. But seriously — any new renters? The laptop barely runs SL so I’m glad Jen taught you how to get renters set up…

19 06 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

I have a double disadvantage — a disability (people look at me funny when I happen to mention my two a week telecommuting sessions, and how I don’t like going to the Parklawn building due to the sheer size of it and the terrible parking situation) and I’m “the kid”. Even at 31 I’m the youngest one there and I have NO hobbies that relate to these people. All they talk about are their various spawns and going to fancy restaurants… I don’t have a wife, much less kids, and I don’t like eating out. And woe be if I start talking about VIDEO GAMES around all the 50 year olds. It’d be like pulling off my skin to reveal a martian.

19 06 2007
lirazel

Heh, yes, that’s kind of what happens when gray-haired Granny Lira starts talking about anime at work. I mean, I can talk about progeny and I do like the fine dining, and I can even talk Sprots, but anime? You mean Pokemon?
The people in their 20s just wonder if I’m real.
And one of my Sunday School kids brought his Pokecards on Sunday… he has ADHD, and it’s just the kind of thing he’ll hyperfocus on. Think I’ll send him Princess 9 for viewing over the summer.
But seriously, I think that many of us with intensely enjoyed hobbies or wide-ranging interests, or both, have experienced that shock of non-recognition when people we otherwise respect turn out to have neither clue nor interest. Clueless I often am, but I’m always interested… in just about anything that’s not squicky.

19 06 2007
luinthoron

Didn’t remember it myself exactly either, so I did a little search. :)
http://www.tech-recipes.com/rx/1910/wii_how_to_find_wii_number_register_friends

19 06 2007
delfina

Ooh, fashion plates… good idea. I’ll call in some fellow fashionistas… ;)
And unfortunately, no new renters. One of the renters is upgrading his or her prim count, though. (The person with the boat.) I noticed they were very much over their prim limit so suggested they get a prim increase, which they’re amenable to doing.

19 06 2007
Stefan "Twoflower" Gagne

Got it. I added you and Shachi. Mine is
2803 3199 3316 1104
Yessir, friend codes! Because Nintendo still doesn’t get it.

19 06 2007
kowh

1248 6260 6081 2181 is mine.
You can also send and receive email on the Wii, which is neat but awkward.

19 06 2007
kowh

I don’t mind people who listen to your explanation and then decide it’s not for them. What bugs me are the folks who won’t even give a chance to anything that’s not part of their expectations of what people of a certain type should do and be interested in. And if you even try to broaden their horizons, they look at you like you’re some poor deluded fool and just change the subject/tune you out/smile and nod/etc.
I’m lucky in that I’ve had to deal with very few of these types. Most people just haven’t heard of a lot of the stuff I’m interested in, and I’ve made some converts that way. :)

Post a comment on this entry! All feedback welcome.

